[English] [中文] [中英文]
Displaying English
張恨水  ♂
Zhang Hen-Shui
Zhang Henshui,  Cheung Han-Sui
Born: May 18th, 1895 (Anhui, China) - Died: February 15th, 1967
Filmography (1931-1964)
  Original Story (1 film)
    An Actor and an Actress (1931)    
  Story (19 films)
    A Lonely Bird (1932)    
    Between Tears and Laughters (1932)    
    Man Jiang Hong (1933)    
    The Beauty's Favour (1935)    
    The Night (1941)    
    Wasted Years (1941)    
    A Tale of Laughter and Tears (1952)    
    Mrs. Chen's Boat Chase (1955)    
    Dan Fung Street (1958)    
    House of Kam Topples (Part 1) (1961)    
    House of Kam Topples (Part 2) (1961)    
    Many Aspects of Love (1961)    
    Sunset on the River (1962)    
    Time Flows Like a Stream (1962)    
    Sombre Night (1962)    
    The Songstresses (1963)    
    Between Tears and Laughter (1964)    
    A Story of Three Loves (Part 1) (1964)    
    A Story of Three Loves (Part 2) (1964)    
  Original Novel (1 film)
    A Tale of Laughter and Tears (1957)    
  Born in Anhui, Jiangxi in 1895, during his childhood read chinese and foreign novels. In 1918 he got a job in a local newspaper and began his career as journalist, writing his first novel in 1919. This same year he moves to Beijing and during 15 years he worked for several publications, gaining high reputation. Zhang wrote his last novel in 1948, but later on he will work as chief adviser of the Cultural Department and Director of the Association of Chinese Writers. Some of his novels have been converted into movies, between them "Wasted Years" (1941 and 1962), "The Powdered World" (1948 and 1961), "A Story of Three Loves/A Tale of Laughter and Tears" (1952, 1957 and 1964) and "Love and Money" (1958 and 1961). He died in 1967. Trivia: his name means "he hates the water".