頭號人物
Headlines (2001)


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 01/08/2006



Reviewed by: msnider
Date: 12/13/2002
Summary: Great Movie

I live in the U.S., so I had to buy the VCD of Headlines from Hong Kong. I did so because I a am a fan of Emil Chau's, and not much of his work is available to me so when I got the chance to buy Headlines, I didn't waste any time.

Well, I certainly got my money's worth. Headlines was excellent, depicting the press as what they really are behind the scenes. But this movie also shows that even people in the newspaper business have a heart and are human. How they find their way into that business field, I have no idea. Superb performances by all actors...whoever said that Emil isn't a very good actor, well, I don't know where in the world you got that idea from. That scene between he and Officer Mak is pure gold. This was certainly a better movie than what the U.S. has been putting out lately.


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 04/15/2002
Summary: OKay

Well, it starts out looking very good, and I did enjoy most of it, but there is no climax of any sort by the time it gets to the end, I kept thinking when's the 'big thing' going to happen, but nothing big does happen.

I saw this recently for the first time after it being recommended to me, but that person later told me they were only joking! But I'm glad I saw it anyway, as I may never have gotten around to seeing this one. Nothing that great, but worth checking all the same.

Raing: 2.5/5


Reviewed by: ksbutterbox
Date: 10/31/2001
Summary: I liked this movie!

This has a fresh feel for recent HK/Dramas. Good strong cast of newcomers. If you can find this, rent or buy it. I took a chance and bought it,not knowing anything about it, and was very satisfied loose ends and all!


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 08/08/2001
Summary: I agree with the other reviewers

This movie is 3 stories in 1 but all have to do with newspaper reporters!!
EAch story strikes at a particular nerve and i found myself drawn to all the stories.

Story one is about a rookie newspaper reporter who does his first article but later finds out the consequences of his actions.

Story two is the reporter Sorrow who is good mates with a policeman but he founds out things that drives the policeman to the edge.

Story three is a reporter who pretends to be a social worker while working on a article about triads.

It's hard to say which story is better. All have their issues and all deal with them quite well. The story with the policeman, at the end, you feel a bit unresolved because you (SPOLIER) never find out if the continue investigating the case or what happens. I think they stopped the case but not sure.

A movie which shows actions have consequences and maybe some journalists can learn from this movie. Very moving and entertaining movie!!

7.25/10


Reviewed by: peter martin
Date: 06/01/2001
Summary: Enjoyable, though it runs out steam

Each of the three intertwined stories unwinds at a measured pace and in unanticipated (at times) ways. Very fine performances all around by the ensemble cast.

The pace of the film is slower than it needs to be; certain scenes run longer than they should; and the staging is static. More variety in these areas by the director would have made for a more enjoyable ride. That being said, the actors are given room to breathe and deliver.

Overall, an enjoyable trip into the frenetic and highly competitive world of Hong Kong daily newspapers. I have no idea how accurately its depiction is, yet the emotions of the characters certainly had the ring of truth. Good performances, an unhurried pace, and a few interesting twists build up the audience's goodwill, which is needed to survive the story running out of steam near the end.


Reviewed by: trenty
Date: 04/13/2001
Summary: Convincing plot resulted in good movie.

"Headlines" gave the audience a great look at the reporters' side. In this movie, there are three cases involved and showed how each reporter handled the situation.

The reviewer ICU previously told the summary, therefore, I will not repeat here. The plot itself was convincing enough by showing examples of reporters reporting their own stories in different situations. One involved a "life and death" situation, on the other hand, we have a "victimized" situation, and also, another "inner-relationship" situation was developed from the reporter's story herself. The decision to report or not is an important issue here.

As to the performances, the cast showed a great effort in the movie. Cheung Ho Yee had her another starring role was well done due to her previous performances in those TVB series. However, the only flaw maybe Emil Chow's acting. I personally found that his acting is still a bit far from greatness and he should stay with his singing career rather. Other supporting roles were well done too, for example, Daniel Wu, Grace Yip and Wayne Lai had their roles well in placed by the director. As a result, this movie has above standard performances by the cast.

To conclude, this movie delivers a great look at the press. Also, there is not much of this movie around; therefore, this is a good one to look at. Overall, the plot and direction of this movie was enjoyable to sit through the movie's hour.


Reviewed by: ICU
Date: 02/23/2001

I enjoy this movie very much because the plot is so meaningful, something important that the press and individuals should consider thinking about. On one hand, you have the reporters trying to do a good job in reporting news, and for some, bringing resolution to problems. On the other hand, you have the "victims" of reporters, understanding that they are entitled to protect their privacy, but also by protecting the privacy, they are not letting the reporters to do the job. It is not simple to blame the press, rather, to question each party's priority and try the best to balance it. I think this movie put out a good message. Also, the acting is also enjoyable! Daniel Wu plays a rookie reporter, having a fresh scent by the way he dress, and the way he approaches his interviewee. Maggie Cheung Ho Yee plays an uptight reporter seeking the good out of people, by avoiding quarelling with Daniel in the beginning of the movie, and willing to forgive and forget the insults of her job. Emil Chau plays a middle-aged reporter, the ways he hangout to retrieve news, his qualification of knowing many higher offices. These roles are drawn out very convinced, and fortunately the actors are not disappointing.