Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying English
特務迷城 (2001)
The Accidental Spy


Reviewed by: dandan
Date: 04/12/2008
Summary: americans can come in useful...

buck (jackie chan) was raised an orphan, he lives in hong kong working in a sporting goods store. after foiling a bank robbery, he is tracked down by many liu (eric tsang), who has been looking for orphans of a certain age; the age buck is. buck gets taken to korea, where he meets bank (joh young-kwon); a north-korean spy who has defected, but is at death's door.

bank gives buck a gift, before he dies; a puzzle which leads him to turkey, where he soon finds himself getting entangled with an international crime syndicate who want a chemical weapon which was in bank's possession when he defected...

i remember being decidedly unimpressed when i first watched this film. still, for some reason, i decided to give it another watch last night. it is by no means great, but i did find it much more enjoyable on a second, expectation free, viewing.

the film is much more serious, in tone, than other films where jackie plays the nice guy gets caught up in something big; there's more drama and melodrama, than comedy, but jackie does a pretty good job with it. the narrative also seemed a lot more straight-forward than i remembered, which was a bonus.

as for the action; well, there's several sequences which, by no means reach the standard of jackie's earlier work, are pretty entertaining. the sequence in the turkish baths being the stand out.

reasonable, but not quite good...


Reviewed by: cal42
Date: 06/29/2006
Summary: Don't Wait For Me

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – when Hong Kong film makers shoot in English, it really doesn’t work. Okay, that’s not the main problem with this film, but it’s the most obvious. Actually, not all that much is shot in English, but with so many other languages used as well, it tends to get really confusing: OK, I’m reading the subs…Oh, they’re speaking in English now, no need to read the subs…oops, back to [insert language here], better start reading the subs again. Rinse and Repeat throughout the whole film.

As for the plot – I’ve seen this film three times now and I’m still not really any the wiser. I’m sure it felt like high art at the time, but it seems totally screwy to me. Another thing that I keep saying (and will continue to keep saying) is that Jackie Chan films work best when on a small scale plot-wise. By that, I mean it’s great when he’s after the head of a crime syndicate / avenging his master / searching for lost Nazi gold etc. But when he tries to save the world the films suffer. Besides, when we want the world saving, we’ve got James Bond.

Also Vivian Hsu. She’s nice to look at, but her character is dull, dull, dull. Eric Tsang is, well, Eric Tsang. Those that loved Brad Allen’s contribution to GEORGEOUS (and I’m one of them) will be disappointed to learn that he’s pretty much invisible through most of this.

That’s not to say that the film is totally rubbish. It isn’t. There’s some outstanding bits in here like the Turkish bath scene and…erm…well, that’s the only outstanding bit I remember, but I’m sure there’s more. Anyway, it’s still head and shoulders above FIRST STRIKE, and that’s the main thing, even if it does have a SPEED knock-off ending.

The best bit happens in the outtakes where Jackie is having a serious moment on a balcony with the ashes of his father…and accidentally drops them. Sadly, it’s the only laugh-out-loud moment in the whole film.

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: icacutee
Date: 04/18/2003

I saw this in the cinema and regretted it. Okay, maybe it wasn't as bad as I make it sound, but it certainly was not worth it in the cinema.

The plot is pretty average, but it was cool how Jackie Chan had to go to different countries to solve the case.

The main problem was what was going on between him and Vivian Hsu? It was kinda gross, seeing this dude fall in love with a girl who could easily be his daughter. But then what can I say about Jackie Chan, considering his background for affairs.

This movie has good action (duh - it's Jackie Chan), but just seeing Vivian Hsu moping around is enought to put me off. Enjoyable, but I don't think it is good enough to view for a second time.


Reviewed by: bkasten
Date: 03/11/2003
Summary: Almost great

I finally got around to Accidental Spy the other night, and I really think that this may be the closest J.C. has gotten to making a solid, serious movie since Crime Story.

It's rare to see J.C. playing a truly believeable dramatic role. And while J.C. is a good actor, he is pretty much the definition of a typecast actor, and you just cannot help but think the seriousness is only temporary and phony. I can never suspend my disbelief when he is serious. BUT in this movie, somewhat like Crime Story, Heart of the Dragon, Island of Fire, and to a lesser extent his Lo Wei movies, he is really serious and not being the typical innocent comical clown. In this movie he reaches a new and different level. And unlike those previouis movies, I actually saw a side of J.C.'s acting and seriousness I have never seen--especially in a few heavy emotional scenes. It's really quite refreshing to see, and gives us a glimpse of what the future may hold for J.C. and the roles he will play.

Unfortunately, this movie falls a bit short: the story lacks continuity and fluidity; some of the acting is truly hammy (especially the terrible English speaking actors); and the end degenerates into a bit too much silliness. Silliness usually spoils a movie that portends any level of seriousness. Unfortunately it's somewhat the same thing that happened with Who Am I and First Strike.

There is a lot to like in this movie. I think of it as a unique and flawed gem in J.C.'s work. DM2 it is not. But with real English speaking actors, a little better editing, and removal of the silliness in some of the action scenes, this would stand as his best serious movie. I also feel it is by far his best serious performance. As a serious movie, it is is as close as he has gotten to being truly great.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Chungking_Cash
Date: 01/25/2003

A slight improvement, at least aesthetically speaking, on Jackie Chan's post-"Drunken Master II" (1994) career but every bit as middling as "Rumble in the Bronx" (1995), "Thunderbolt" (1995), and "Who Am I?" (1998). Eric Tsang, once again, phones in his performance.

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 01/14/2003
Summary: Yikes

When the action stops, so does my interest!! The plot is a bit thin and you couldn't care less. At the end there are a few questions yet to be answered. While the beginning was done well, it just wasn't specutular to me. It didn't get me excited watching it, even though i would of cost a pretty penny to shoot.

The ending is the asian version of SPEED but done well and that was about the most enjoyable part of the movie. That and JAckie fight people naked!!

If you can stand the slow paced talking, then you might like this more than i did.

6/10

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Dyogenez
Date: 05/07/2002
Summary: Another good Chan movie

This movie hooked me in from the very beginning. Its rare that nearly 2 hours go by so fast in a movie. There really is no fluff to this film, it's almost all action, or suspense to bring on more action. Coupled with Jackie Chan's character fighting with props make for a very entertaining film. I had no problems with this movie. If you like action and want something what will keep you in your seat with some plot check it out. 8/10.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 02/12/2002

One of the major complaints many critics and fans (myself included) have had about most of Jackie Chan's latest movies is that he seems to be straying from the formula that made his films so successful. Whether it was adding more comedy (Rush Hour) or romance (Gorgeous), Chan's newer films seem to be missing that certain spark that made them stand out from similar movies. While The Accidental Spy doesn't quite capture that magic, it does mark a return to a "classic" Jackie Chan movie and it stands out as his best work since Police Story 3.

The plot is by-the-numbers Chan, wherein he plays a man thrown into circumstances beyond his control. Here he plays a fitness equipment salesman named Buck who becomes a local hero after foiling a robbery attempt, which attracts the attention of a private detective played by Eric Tsang (almost unrecognizable in a balding wig and thick glasses, at least until he speaks). Tsang wants to bring Chan to Korea to meet the man who might be his father. The man dies, but not before he gives Chan a mission of sorts. As Chan unravels the mystery, he finds a beautiful woman, a large sum of cash and himself smack dab in the middle of an international conspiracy involving chemical weapons (hence the title).

Yeah, so the plot's not mind-blowing -- but then with the exception of a few films, such as the Drunken Master movies, Heart of Dragon and Crime Story, Chan's plots usually have the weight of the paper the scripts are printed on. But that's okay in my book. They're usually just an excuse to get to the action sequences, and like Chan's best movies, The Accidental Spy delivers. They're not spectacular -- keep in mind, Jackie's getting up there in years… I don't think we can expect any more 20-minute duels ala Drunken Master 2 from him -- but they're damn solid and a lot better than Chan's last few movies. The stunts are also done well, though it looks like he was doubled for the more dangerous stuff.

Just one last point about something that is becoming a pet peeve for me: the bad English acting by the Asian actors in many recent Hong Kong movies. I don't want to sound like I'm a cultural elitist (I'm sure these actors' English is much better than my Cantonese) and I understand that Hong Kong studios want to build an international audience for their movies, but enough is enough already. Either find actors that can speak English well, or just dub them over. Case in point: one of the actors pronounces Athens "ay-thens" not once but twice. Don't they have someone to supervise that kind of stuff? Besides that (as Tim Youngs pointed out in his review) there's an epilogue that seems to serve to only provide a space for the advertiser's logos rather than further the story.

But these are pretty minor complaints. If you've been disappointed with the recent wave of Hong Kong action movies, The Accidental Spy should at least give you some hope that Hong Kong can still churn out the world's best action movies. If you don't believe me, just watch this and then take a look at a new US action movie like The Mummy Returns. I think you'll see that despite how much homogenization has gone on in both Hollywood and Hong Kong, and how much money Hollywood can throw at a movie to make it seem like a Hong Kong one, that Hollywood simply cannot compete with a dedicated artist armed with a crazy imagination and a set of props.


Reviewed by: danton
Date: 01/03/2002

Another example of HK action movies increasingly catering to an international audience. The movie takes place in HK, Korea and Turkey, and the languages spoken are Manadrin, Cantonese and English, with a bit of Korean and Turkish thrown in for good measure.

The story is convoluted (a James Bond type spy story), but moves along nicely if you don't question it too much. Decent action, Jackie does his usual shtick, but this time playing it a bit more seriously than in recent features such as Gorgeous and First Strike. The action is a lot more gripping as a result, as you get a sense of urgency and danger mostly lacking from his last few movies. Overall, the production values are pretty high, and I hope this movie will do well when it is released in North America.

Recommended. (Note: the DVD says DTS, but I was only able to get DD5.1 )

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Ryoga
Date: 12/24/2001

It seems like Jackie still got it! But if your looking for insane fights like in Drunken Master 2 or Police Story, look elsewhere. But this is a decent movie. The DVD is awesome.


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 11/17/2001
Summary: Decent

THE ACCIDENTAL SPY - Jackie Chan in decent international espionage/thriller territory (but by accident, as the title implies). He's a salesman in an exercise shop who ends up caught in the middle of the CIA, Korean Terrorists and angry Turks in competition for biological weapons. Features the usual Chan assortment of stunts & action, the usual gorgeous women 1/4 of his age and the usual hokey but entertaining plot that such films involve. Great production values and much entertainment. Although the "Speed" section was, as many have observed, completely unnecessary and much too long. Features the wonderfully inspired line: "A scientist developed a new more deadly strain of Anthrax called.... Anthrax 2!". Gotta love the sense of humour those scientist blokes have. Obviously the terrorism/bio-terrorism is a bit of a sensitive topic at the moment - I seem to remember hearing that it was due for a US theatrical release before Sept 11th. It's a shame it now likely won't be shown, as I think it would have been well received. It would probably embarrass the studios that produced the Rush Hours to have US audiences see a 'proper' Jackie film though, so I'm sure they're not unhappy.


Reviewed by: GenXcops_Jack
Date: 07/03/2001
Summary: jackie is jackie

hmmmmm, same old jackie. if u like jackie u'll like this movie. its not like he's doing a love story here. most of his movies are all the same, the unwilling hero. forced into heroic acts to save the day. stunts, humor, and good old jackie. u can use the same review for all of jackie movies, but i can't wait for rush hour 2 though.


Reviewed by: reelcool
Date: 06/21/2001
Summary: Accidental Movie

Yes, everyone loves Jackie, but this movie isn't one of his good ones. I enjoyed watching the pretty actresses, but this movie just lacked appeal, and felt like the same old thing. Yes, the locations were also enjoyable, just like the actresses, they looked good, but the movie still lacked in appeal. Yes, the acting by Jackie was filled with his hard working stunts, and was enjoyable to watch, but the film still lacked in appeal. For all that this movie has going for it, why was it so "lacking"? This movie must have been an accident.


Reviewed by: s****
Date: 05/10/2001
Summary: a nice new direction for Chan

Well, he's not getting any younger, and maybe it's time he started putting more efforts into the storylines and cinematography of his films. THE ACCIDENTAL SPY strikes me as a step in the right direction if we hope to be entertained by Chan well into the new millenium; I, for one, wouldn't know what to do without a new Jackie Chan film to look forward to, even if his last few movies have made me want to slam my head in a doorframe at times. Particularly GORGEOUS, which also struck me as Jackie trying something new and less dependent on action choreography. THE ACCIDENTAL SPY good. GORGEOUS bad. No more on that subject.

THE ACCIDENTAL SPY is not one of Chan's best films, but it is a competent, entertaining film that is well directed and acted (except for Eric Tsang, who's been irritating the hell out of me lately, but that's probably just a personal thing). The action scenes are also innovative and very well done; Jackie is still in fine form. Other reviewers have noted a departure from Chan's regular formats (i.e. no guns, no blood, no gratuitous Tiger Beer product placements, etc.) While I too will always have a special place in my heart for the first twenty years of Chan's filmmaking, he just can't keep doing the same thing over and over (especially if he expects to live to see fifty), and I'm glad to see he not only seems to be aware of this, but seems to have come up with a solution.


Reviewed by: senordingdong
Date: 04/26/2001
Summary: Jackie compromises his values for a good film.

One of Jackie's best films in a long time. The camera work is some of the best I've seen in a Hong Kong film. But one thing that bothers me about this film is that he doesn't even catch the villain at the end of the movie. Also, Jackie compromises some of his most important values. Whatever happened to his rule about less guns and no blood? This is one of the things that make a Jackie Chan film a Jackie Chan film, yet there's a scene where Jackie is covered in another man's blood.


Reviewed by: GlennS
Date: 04/15/2001
Summary: The Return Of Jackie!

After a string of both HK and Hollywood duds, ACCIDENTAL SPY marks the triumphant return of everything one wants to see in a Jackie movie: quick pacing, great stunts, fighting and cute co-stars (Vivian Hsu and Kim Min this time around).

And as a bonus, ACCIDENTAL SPY features a rarity in Jackie movies: a plot! Instead of figuring out in the first 15 minutes how the rest of the film is going to go, there's a little mystery on who exactly Buck Yuen (Jackie) is and the adventure that follows when he tries to find out.

This spy caper goes from Hong Kong to Seoul to Istanbul in a seemless flow and the pace never lets up. Also, the dialogue (in Cantonese, English, Korean, Mandarin and Arabic) is done well and doesn't seem awkward.

Great Jackie moments such as doing flips on a trampoline, fighting some bad guys while at the same time trying to keep his privates covered and the stunning finale on a runaway tanker. ACCIDENTAL SPY is a must see for action fans, especially ones fond of Jackie.

8/10

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: ipkevin
Date: 04/02/2001
Summary: Best Jackie Chan film since Drunken Master 2

The least awkward and best-written HK Jackie Chan film in a long time. It's
surprising how it so successfully and unself-consciously appropriates a
Hollywood feel! Especially after Who Am I?, where JC himself admitted that
they tried to do a Hollywood film but you can always tell it just doesn't
feel right. Don't ask me exactly what makes Accidental Spy successful as a
'Hollywood style' film. It could be the high production values. The slick
cinematography. The good pacing. The attention to plot in the sense that
it doesn't feel made up as they go along & that the plot rather than the
action drives the movie. The lack of any overtly goofy elements (eg
overacting badguys dressed like clowns). The use of English and other languages in a realistic way. That JC actually has a dapper and stylish wardrobe for once!

Bottomline is that I really enjoyed it. The film travel from HK to Korea to
Turkey and effortlessly picks up the local flavor as it goes along. Oh, and
the music is nice, too! A lot of 'ethnic' percussion - It has some flair.

Regarding the action scenes, they are better than expected considering all
the complaints. The Jackie fights are here. They have the timing and
rhythm we've all come to know and love (esp since no one else in Hong Kong
seems to be able figure out the rhythm anymore - See all the 'continuous
flailing' in Skyline Cruisers, China Strike Force, etc, etc.). The problem
is that the numerous fight scenes are rather short. If they had included a
massive showstopper fight like that in Who Am I? then no one would be
complaining. Hell, if they had, this would be a better film than Supercop.
Instead, the final battle is replaced with a big truck stunt/action scene
that is "just" good. I expected it to be boring, but it really is tense
with one or two moments that surprised and shocked me. Contrast this with
Thunderbolt, whose 15 minute+ racing finale seemed like a how-to on making
boring racing scenes. So while it's a bit different from JC's usual stunt-
& fight-laden movies, it does deliver a good amount of action. It's nice
change of pace for JC... a JC film for the new millenium.


Reviewed by: MilesC
Date: 03/28/2001
Summary: Hey, you know you'll see it...

I'm not sure if Jackie Chan has improved somewhat in with his last few movies, or if Mr. Nice Guy simply brought down my expectations to such a level that they can't help but be exceeded. Either way, The Accidental Spy is pretty entertaining.

Is it good? God no. While other recent big budget pictures have invested some money and effort in at least mediocre English dialogue, TAS contains unbelievable clunkers like "it'll take out the entire neighborhood for 200 meters in every direction" and "the fire department is on its way, but they'll be here in less than twenty minutes." Story-wise, it's a noble effort, generally eschewing silly tangents and moving forward at a reasonable pace. Still,in the final analysis, the story is very thin and shoddily thrown together, with seemingly very little understanding of how to create and maintain tension and sympathy. The biggest sin of all comes in the last act; there's still five minutes of destruction-derby action left AFTER the story is, for all practical purposes, over. And let's not even talk about the characters.

But, as every reviewer says, nobody goes to Jackie Chan's movies for the plot. The action, unfortunately, isn't all that impressive either. The story involves only a handful of Chinese, so Jackie's stunt team is largely absent. As good as Jackie is, the effects of his stunt team's absence are painfully obvious; while the fights are, of course, fun to watch, there's barely a memorable moment, let alone an entire memorable scene. Bran Allen puts in an appearance, but his skills are wasted on a confined tussle in the back of a car. On the other hand, a lot of things get destroyed. The capper- which I won't give away- is one of the most breathtaking "wow" moments of devastation in HK movies. Almost more fun, though, are the various "that's my Jackie" moments that are spread throughout. Whether he's doing backflips on a trampoline or finding ingenious methods of dressing, Jackie's little touches are what make him one-of-a-kind.

Call me strange, but one of the things I liked most about the movie was the fact that at the end, Jackie is hospitalized for his injuries. Chan may be a superhero, but a little vulnerability never hurts. Another small but appreciated touch in the final minutes is that after the outtakes that play with the credits, there's a final coda. A nice touch; small, but a little different from Jackie's formula.

In sum- there must be dozens of reasons why The Accidental Spy isn't a good movie. There are only a few reasons to recommend it. Still, a Jackie Chan movie is an event, and almost everyone who keeps up with Hong Kong movies will see it. At the very least, it fails to bore, and is a decent evening's entertainment if viewed with low expectations.


Reviewed by: magic-8
Date: 03/13/2001
Summary: Great Fun

Jackie Chan stars in another fun-filled movie, "The Accidental Spy." There will be many people out there who'll be longing for the Jackie Chan of old, but I contend the "The Accidental Spy" is one of Jackie's best modern day action films. "The Accidental Spy" is a very well paced film directed by Teddy Chan. And no matter what anyone may think, Jackie's still doing some great stunt work. Granted, there aren't any extended fight scenes, but there are many fights interspersed throughout. In this travelogue, we get to see Turkey and its local color.

The script by Ivy Ho contains enough detail to keep things interesting, while also throwing a "treasure hunt" aspect into the mix. Jackie ends up looking for his long lost father and gets caught up in affairs that his supposed spy-father had started. All western wannabes take note on how to blend international dialogue. There are several languages spoken in this film, which are delivered by the cast members speaking in their own tongue, making things sound natural. Lines were written simply so the cast didn't have to strain at credibility. Plus, Jackie has been doing this for so long that it all comes off as second nature. After all, we aren't watching Shakespeare, we're watching Jackie crash through an office tower; tumble down the mountainside; and jump off a bridge.

For a film to boast a budget over $200 million HK dollars, we get to see it spent all on screen. The stunts are big, but they don't overshadow the actors, as they did in "China Strike Force." Teddy Chan uses Jackie superbly, taking a few tips from his previous film "Purple Storm." We believe in Jackie because he still does his own over-the-top and wild stunts. There are quite a few in "The Accidental Spy." Jackie still can impress by his sheer willingness to absorb pain, as demonstrated in the film's outtakes.

"The Accidental Spy" is just another example of Jackie's fabulously entertaining movie making. He still provides great excitement on film better than almost anybody in the world.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Paul Fonoroff
Date: 02/12/2001

Chinese New Year isn’t quite the same without a Jackie Chan spectacular. Recent years, coinciding with his ascent to Hollywood superstardom (not that this is necessarily the decisive factor), Jackie seemed to have lost his way back to his celluloid home. Though he enjoys larger budgets and more control than virtually any other Hong Kong filmmaker, such late 1990s new year blockbusters as Mr. Nice Guy, Gorgeous, and Who Am I? are inferior to his American pictures, both in terms of laughs and inventiveness. The Accidental Spy thus comes as something of a relief, his best since Police Story 4: First Strike five years ago. Though it breaks no new ground, and (truth be told) the star would have been better suited for the boyish role a decade ago, the combination of Jackie, director Teddy Chan, and martial arts coordinator Stephen Tung, has created a light confection with sufficient humor and thrills to make for an enjoyable 100 minutes.

Ivy Ho’s script, while not approaching the heights achieved in her Comrades, Almost a Love Story, is flexible and whimsical enough to provide a plausible rationale for the mixture of action and intrigue with thankfully little of the sentimentality and puerility that infested Chan’s more recent efforts. The star’s personality and persona are well suited for the role of Buck Yuen, an idealistic sporting equipment salesman who gets involved in the search for a deadly anthrax vaccine in Istanbul. Good use is made of the exotic locale, and there is a hint of romance with a gentle but far-from-innocent maiden in distress (Vivian Hsu). But these merely provide window dressing for the main attraction: the stunts.

The action scenes show the star and his team have lost nothing of their ingenuity. A classic “Jackie Chan moment” is provided in the Turkish bath sequence, with Buck on the run from assassins, sliding on the sudsy surfaces and running stark naked through a bazaar, attempting to hide his privates with brooms, plates, tablecloths, and tambourines until he acrobatically fashions himself a garb out of a piece of hanging cloth. The grand finale probably broke a budgetary record, along with a large percentage of Istanbul’s vehicles, as Jackie destroys a small plane and later careens down a highway on a burning oil tanker about to explode.

The Accidental Spy isn’t Jackie’s greatest, but it’s his finest in years and an auspicious beginning to the Year of the Snake, for both the star and the Hong Kong film industry.

3 Stars

This review is copyright (c) 2001 by Paul Fonoroff. All rights reserved. No part of the review may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Paul Fox
Date: 02/11/2001
Summary: Chan Too Much to 'Bare' in Accidental Spy.

Jackie Chan is arguably one of the most gifted filmmakers in Asia. His success speaks for itself. But recently the filmmaker seems to keep sticking to the same formula in his Asian films. Yet again there is a film with Jackie playing a typical innocent "nice guy" that gets swept up into trouble. How fortunate, that yet again this nice guy is a whiz at Kung-fu.

Accidental Spy is perhaps one of the worst of Mr. Chan's films to come along in years. The premise starts out rather interesting as he learns of a dying Korean man who may be his father. This man is an ex-agent and has amassed a small fortune. After a few clues are hinted at, the money hunt is on. Had the plot simply remained on this level, the film might have been more fun, but unfortunately it descends into a drudgery of espionage and anthrax viruses. The intrigue is less than intriguing and clues and encounters are handled poorly.

The performances are nothing special, save for the few on screen moments of Eric Tsang. Jackie is in his typical "role-model" mode and Vivian Hsu is utterly wasted in her role. As seems to be the recent trend in Hong Kong cinema, this film has plenty of poorly phrased English dialogue.

The action scenes are nothing to write home about. And perhaps the worst part is that midway through the film, viewers will get to see Jackie fight as they have never seen him before. But even this attempt at ingenuity is ruined by some extremely poor timing, photography and editing.

No doubt Mr. Chan is in great physical shape for his age, but he is not the man he was twenty years ago and this is starting to show. No where was this more apparent than in his film "Gorgeous" (1999), when he looked old enough to play Shu Qi's father. The pairing here with Vivian, although brief, works even less well. It is time for Mr. Chan to move on to more mature roles.

Overall review rating : 1.5 out of 5


Review by Paul Fox

Location:  UA Shatin

Time: Wednesday 31 January  2:50pm

Reviewer Score: 3