賊公子
Super Car Criminals (2000)


Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 09/04/2010

Director Ricky Lau had a string of success through the 1980's and 1990's with movies that dealt with the supernatural, most notably several entries in the popular "ghost busting" Mr. Vampire series. But as the popularity of the genre waned in the late 1990's, Lau found his career to be out of direction, and turned to other genres, such as 2000's crime actioner Super Car Criminals. Sadly, the magic Lau had with handling the other-worldly is not apparent at all here, and we're left with what is widely considered to be one of the worst Hong Kong movies of the past ten years.

Reviewer Score: 2

Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 01/31/2006

To celebrate the Year of the Dog, a dear colleague of mine sent me a DVD of Super Car Criminals. I've spent five years avoiding this film based solely on my despising Ricky Lau Koon-Wai's direction of Pinky Cheung in The Temptation of Office Ladies. My friend has always said that I should see this film, if only to appreciate the performance of Simon Loui.

Well, yes. Loui's performance is chock full of the usual verve and humor that he has become famous for. Remarkably, Michael Wong's performance is quite strong; none of his usual wooden stylings here. This group of actors, Loui and Wong along with Louis Koo and Roy Cheung, can always be counted on to bring good energy to any film project.

With this group, director Lau benefits greatly. Unfortunately, the screenplay lets everyone down. It is full of many good ideas, but all are left underdeveloped. Frankly, this is probably due more to political climate than any lack of talent. Super Car Criminals is really one of the best film titles ever. So great, in fact, that it conjures images so grand that no movie made could ever live up to it.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 06/12/2002
Summary: Garbage

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! MHAI! This is utter garbage, it really is. A film that probably took a week to make is obvious by the poor plot, story, acting and overall enthusiasm which is not shown by anyone in the film. A complete waste of time. It’s no surprise for Louis Koo to wreck a movie anyway, but even Roy Cheung and Michael Wong (both of whom are usually not bad) perform so poorly that the film leaves absolutely nothing worth watching.

[1/5]


Reviewed by: jasonlau128
Date: 05/31/2002
Summary: A philopino would say this is like a Butt Puck - berry bad pilm

This is the film with the Wong man duck. Also known as white man wong or sei gweilo in chinese. But to be politically correct he is a half-cast. Despite this i still think he is a lun yerng.

The final gun battle is just lame. One officer (who has a mustache)looks as though he just woke up. He should be fearing for his life. Where is the professionalism in that? If i went to the cinema to watch this i would think this is a piece of low budget shit that 2 guys pieced together in week in a cheap hong kond shed.

Koo is often a serious actor and he is one in this film. However, that is of serious contrast here because this film is a joke - Even for a cheap chinese film.

The actors and directors should be dragged out by their hair and shot in the street. And that gweilo should then be shipped to where ever the hell he came from - gweilo land or something.. i don;t know.

I hate that Sei Gweilo. Don't tell him i said that though.

PS i slept with his wife. And she said he had a small one. Almost dickless. He is nothing compared to my big dick - a whole 3 inches long.


Reviewed by: GenXcops_Jack
Date: 05/09/2001
Summary: phucking piece of garbage

everything totally sucked in the movie. nothing went right, the script, the plot, the acting, the production, etc...
the worst movie i have ever seen. please join my fight to ban micheal wong out of movies. he's the worst phucking actor in the phucking world. join me in my fight,
www.MwongSUCKSass.com.


Reviewed by: Fuck You
Date: 02/28/2001

I was surprised by how much I like this movie.
I really enjoy the bit when Simon Lui stuck a gun up the baddie ass.


Reviewed by: MilesC
Date: 03/25/2000
Summary: Beneath contempt.

I can muster up a lot of hatred for movies like A Man Called Hero, high-budget wastes of money and film. Then there's movies like Super Car Criminals,which are just too cheap and lame to work up any kind of strong feelings at all. The direction is utterly uninspired, and during the two blur-motion fight scenes, downright poor. The story takes forever to go anywhere, and the script seems to have been written in about a day by someone with no real ideas. While plenty of movies have more glaring flaws, you'll rarely find a film with less going for it than Super Car Criminals. I really can't think of one good reason to watch it.


Reviewed by: ryan
Date: 01/27/2000
Summary: Not at the focus ....

It is very interesting to note that lots of Hong Kong movies are opening before the Chinese New Year. One is Michael WONG Man-tak and Louis KOO Tin-lok's "Super Car Criminals". Director LAU Koon-wai, who was quite famous in the 80s, has helped New Treasures as a director before; but all the movies were unsatisfactory with critics and at the box office. Can "Super Car Criminals" improve his standing as a director? Let's see.

"Super Car Criminals" is about a group of car criminals headed by Michael (Michael WONG Man-tak), with Raymond (Louis KOO Tin-lok), Simon LOUI Yue-yeung and Roy CHEUNG Yiu-yeung. The have access to detailed information on different car models and their owners so that they can steal what they need easily. Their buyer, Raymond, is a guy who bribes customs officials so the stolen cars can be 'imported' to the mainland easily.

In fact, Raymond is an undercover cop whose mission is to help his Dad (Paul CHUN Pui) investigate Michael's business. Raymond is finding it hard to get access to Mike's computer data, so finally he tries to get to know Mike better via his sister Mickey (Sherming YIU Lok-yee). But she is ignorant of Michael's businessm and Michael is starting to get suspicious about Ray ....

Going on the title, everyone is going to realise that "Super Car Criminals" is a group of criminals. This basic topic could be addressed in several dimensions -- the techniques used to steal cars, they way they run the business, the criminals' emotional lives.

Director LAU Koon-wai picks several approaches, and the movie has ended up with no particular focus. At the beginning it's about their techniques for stealing cars, then it switches to the business side and finally shifts to the "Super Car Criminals'" private lives. All of these could be interesting if they worked together well.

The big problem with the movie is that the bits which could have been used to make it more interesting have been handled in a standard, uninspired way. The only way it builds the criminals' characters is by showing the various ways they celebrate their successes. This takes the steam out of the relationships within the group in the latter half of the movie. I agree that each character should have something specific to stand out the character but it still requires interactions to point out the characters.

The ending could be better too. The build up to the finale is based on lots of dubious assumptions and it would be more convincing without them. For example, Michael keeps something secret from the rest of the group and it's not really believable that he wouldn't tell them, but the current ending is impossible without this convenient deception.

Most of the cast, like Michael WONG, Sherming YIU, Simon LOUI and Louis KOO, have been in lots of movies in the last few months. Their acting is okay here, but audiences are getting a bit tired of watching them.

Written by Ryan Law from Hong Kong Movie DataBase on 23 January 2000.