猛鬼大廈
Operation Pink Squad II (1989)


Reviewed by: sharkeysbar
Date: 08/04/2007
Summary: Great and silly and very enjoyable

This film has it all and yet has no idea what it wants to be. There is a bit of everything, cop n gangster movie, horror movie, comedy, cross-dressing, drama (very small part) and all the while it has its tongue firmly in its cheek.
This 2nd film by the undercover cops, is a real farce, there are a few laughs, but also some great moments of cringing. There were many enjoyable things in this film, the acting was good, over the top but that is the sort of film it is.
I can't give the story away, it is fairly evident in any case but I can say it is silly and enjoyable, I laughed many times through this film, and would recommend it for a good way to chuckle through an hour and a half or so.
Remembering and taking into account the age of this film, 18 years old in 2007, it is worth a watch, based on the laughs it gave me. It is a silly film, but what's wrong with a silly film every now and then?

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: dandan
Date: 03/26/2006
Summary: aka 'thunder cops'...

the second installment of the series sees sandra ng, married to billy lau, but still working undercover with 'the squad'. this time, the girls are trying to entrap maddy (shing fui-on) who is trying to buy fake money presses, or something like that.

the girls have set up a base in a tower block, billy lau is convinced that the police inspector (wu fung) is pimping the girls and he's turned up to set things straight, maddy turns up to break the deal, but unfortunately a troublesome ghost turns up to cause some bother...

this is a pretty bonkers film. there's all sorts of nonsense going on, some unexpectedly saucy jokes, a flying head, remote control helicopters and lots of silliness.

good stuff!


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 01/13/2002
Summary: Not as good as the original

OPERATION PINK SQUAD II (Chinese name ‘Ghost Of The Great Mansion ‘) has the 4 female cops on another mission, this time dealing with a paranormal case. There is much more comedy than action in this one, but not as funny. It can’t be taken serious unlike the original film, as the ghosts spoil the whole feeling. Probably not so bad if you haven’t seen the original, but if you have, you will look at this one much differently. There are enough reviews here, so I won’t go any further if you want to know more of the story.

Available on VCD and DVD. NOTE, the DVD version is actually called ‘Thunder Cops ‘.

Rating: 2.5/5

(This rating is based on the year & genre, so don't think it's based as a comparison on new releases etc.)

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 01/08/2002
Summary: Lunatic and immensely stupid, but charming

Danton's already covered this one, so I won't add much. The movie starts off absolutely terribly (I actually watched the first 10/15 mins before Christmas and gave up entirely before reading Danton's review), then ascends (or descends) to heights of lunacy almost as random as MY HERO. All very cheap and completely stupid, but good natured and entertaining, though I'm not sure I'd have enjoyed the movie half as much if Ann Bridgewater hadn't been on set . It reminded me of the very small section of SCARY MOVIE 2 I saw the other week, though whilst that was enough for me to passionately despise SM2 I am quite happy to forgive OPS2 on the grounds that it was HK, the 80's, the budget probably wouldn't buy a pair of shoes in Hollywood and... well, it had Ann Bridgewater in it :)

Certainly not a movie I'd consider as one to introduce people to the world of HK movies, but a fun use of 90 minutes for those who are already attuned to their charms. It must be noted that the Winson DVD is diabolical though... vhs quality full frame transfer, and sound mastered so loud it is clipped & distorted throughout. Given this, the presence of removal subtitles seems almost offensively ironic!


Reviewed by: danton
Date: 01/03/2002

Released by Winson not too long ago under the title Thunder Cops, this movie is actually Operation Pink Squad 2, which is a sequel in name only to the original Operation Pink Squad, and has nothing at all to do with the other Winson release called Thunder Cops 2 -- confusing, to say the least...

The DVD is pretty poor, but it does have optional, readable subtitles. Unfortunately, the movie is fullscreen - however, unlike some other films where this really destroys the viewing experience, I found it not to be too bad and actually after a while I didn't even notice it any more.

The movie itself is a late 80s horror comedy starring Sandra Ng, Cheung Man, and Ann Bridgewater, as well as a whole lot of other actors I didn't recognize. The story is centered around a group of female police officers who are on undercover assignment at an apartment which just happens to be in a building that's haunted. The movie starts slowly, with nothing much happening except a lot of lame farcical humour involving mainly Sandra Ng's husband and his mistaken belief that she's working as a prostitute...

But once the ghosts start showing up (along with a taoist priest and a triad bad guy), the movie becomes truly inspired. Pretty soon it's utter bedlam, with kung fu fighting, bodies flying through the air, everybody running around shrieking, taoist spells and severed ghost heads galore. All this is played for laughs, and I found myself enjoying it tremendously. The filmmakers (I think it was directed by Jeff Lau) use every genre cliche there is, but they do it well and with tongue firmly in cheek. The dialog is witty (and the subtitles do a good job translating the humor) and while much of the banter is centered around crude sexual humor involving castration and the like, it's done in a farcical manner that never becomes offensive or dull.

The movie was shot on a shoestring budget, but with so much gusto and verve that I was blown away. Haven't enjoyed a HK movie this much in a long time. Strongly recommended...


Reviewed by: hellboy
Date: 08/29/2000

A fun movie with a lot of funny scenes. Mini remote control helicopters chase a floating head and 2 grown men engage themselves in a peeing contest to see who will sacrifice himself to the floating head. Did I mention the floating head and how it likes to attack crotches? A good example of true HK "cult" cinema, weird and nonsensical. 7/10

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: leh
Date: 12/09/1999

Fun mix of ghost comedy and cop action. Especially worth notingbecause of a scene that brilliantly parodies A Better Tomorrow; you'll be rolling on the floor laughing!


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Asian lovelies Cheung Man, Wu Jun-Ru, and Annie Bai lure a gangster into their house to bust him; they end up having to do some ghostbusting on a spirit (hot Luo Nan-Kuang) whose head, after being chopped off, flies one way while her body runs somewhere else. Our heroes send these miniature helicopters with guided missiles (who knows where they got them) to pursue the ghost, leading to a hilarious climax in which an Elf and her helpers materialize from the spirit world to clean up an army of the living dead, sending them through the Gate to Hell, which apparently was downstairs.

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6