You are currently displaying English
白髮魔女2 (1993)
The Bride with White Hair 2


Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 02/10/2008
Summary: this is a real "sequel"

This is a real "sequel" in the true sense of the word. Beautiful cinematography, sensuality, and lots of cool swordplay move The Bride With White Hair 2 towards to top of my lists of favorite films. Ronny Yu Yan-Tai gave up the director's chair to David Wu Dai-Wai, his assistant director on the first film and an accomplished film editor and composer. Mr. Yu did not stray far from calling the shots as he contributed to the script and produced the film alongside Clifton Ko Chi-Sum.

happyfortune.org

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 12/07/2003
Summary: Great movie

It often troubles me that most people think lowly of this sequel. It has all the elements of a good movie. Granted, it's not as good as its predecessor, and if people are only comparing it to Bride 1, then it would not be fair. However, compared to many inferior work in the genre, BWWH 2 is very good. It has one of the most beautiful endings that I have seen, and the scene with the lovers sending eachother notes on a bird makes the day.

What makes it not as good as the predecessor: while it retains the beautiful music, the direction, cinematography, acting, fighting, and costumes are slightly inferior. Nevertheless, the story is equally good.

[8/10]


Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 09/18/2003

An evil witch (Lin) is intent on killing off the eight great kung fu clans so she can rid the world of men. Only her former lover (Cheung) can hope to stop her with a special flower that will revert the witch to her former self.

This sequel to the mega-popular The Bride with White Hair fails to capture the magic of the original. Most of this comes from the fact that the two leads -- whose romance is the plot impetus for both movies -- only share one scene together. Plotwise, it also doesn't really stand too well on its own. American director James Cameron (Aliens, Terminator 2) once said "I don't believe a sequel should depend on the original," and I think that applies here. Those who haven't seen part 1 will either be bored or confused as pertaining to the plot, and Yu's direction leaves much to be desired in the action department. While there is a great amount of action, Yu uses slow motion way too much -- almost every shot later in the film uses it! And keep in mind that I am a huge John Woo fan, so I am quite used to slow motion being used in action sequences.

A nice piece of eye candy but little else.


Reviewed by: balstino
Date: 05/02/2003
Summary: Good but forgettable...

I didn't mind this film which relies heavily on new talent rather than the veteran actors of the first film. Visually nice, fairly involving, and with some good action scenes. Christy Chung is great in this but overall it is not a memorable affair. The first film is far superior.


Reviewed by: Chungking_Cash
Date: 01/25/2003

"The Bride with White Hair 2" relies mostly on exposition partially comprised of sequences from the first film and as such there isn't much of a script. The film clocks in at measly 78 minutes which literally proves that David Wu and Ronny Yu were less concerned with filming a worthy sequel to their epic fantasy and more concerned with easy money.

Reviewer Score: 1

Reviewed by: Trigger
Date: 05/13/2001
Summary: Not worth your time

This film was simply trying to cash in on the franchise created by the first film. We are introduced to a new set of characters in this one and apparently much has transpired between the end of the first film and the beginning of this one. The story that supposedly happened between movies is not what I would have expected to happen and seemed totally out of character from what was set up in the first.

The new cast is mostly uninteresting, but with a few notables - however, they can't save this film from being anything but mediocre. I loved the first film, but I feel this film betrays the story... This film did have a few moments, but not enough to warrant a purchase - I would suggest renting this title instead.

Seen on - DVD
Release - Tai Seng
Ratings:
Movie - 2/5
Audio - 2/5
Video - 2.5/5
Extras - 2.5/5 - Trailers, sub, dub, widescreen, filmography/bios.
80 minutes.

Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 05/08/2001
Summary: ummm.............

A flawed movie which made the first look good, and i didn't like the first one!!

5/10


Reviewed by: toto63
Date: 07/17/2000
Summary: nice

Not so bad movie, if you haven't seen the first.
Some nice carachters and a not so bad story.
I hate the end :-(


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

The continuing saga begins with the bloody massacre of thefollowers of the Eight Lineages. The Bride (Brigitte Lin) has lost all sanity In her flight for unrivaled strength. Obsessed by hate her powers can only be destroyed by the one person she loves.

[Reviewed by Tai Seng Catalog]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

A pleasant if minor sequel to Ronny Yu's hit movie, BRIDE II downplays the role of Leslie Cheung Kwok Ping (who appears in only two scenes, at the very beginning and in the "grand finale") in favour of Christy Chung, Sunny Chan, Lily Chung and some other teen talent. The style is the same as before: well-choreographed fights, mostly in slow-motion, and soft-focus photography throughout. Lin Ching-Hsia's character seems to have lost some its ambiguity in the process: while she remains a domineering presence when on screen, her character does not possess the same erotic attraction as before, and her performance thus appears one-note. Still, the movie is vastly entertaining on a more elementary level, and in several scenes, director Wu builds up the suspense quite nicely. The plot revolves around a number of flashbacks which are not only intriguing but dramatically viable (and not nearly as confusing as some reviewers have found them), and if you watch closely, the plot does make a lot of sense. Where BRIDE I has left us with a cliff-hanger situation, No.2 brings the "White Hair Witch Legend" to a convincingly hyper-romantic and fiery close. If you've seen the first, be sure to watch the second, too.

[Reviewed by Thomas Muething]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

Nice visuals but no plot... and the action scenes are kind of boring. Some nice sword play and a good soundtrack even this out and save it from utter crapness.

(5/10)

[Reviewed by Andrej Blazeka]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Brigitte Lin, with kung-fu hair that shoots out and stabs her foes, has assembled a small army of angry young women pledged to kill the members of the 8 Clans, Lin's enemies in part one. With its flashbacks and plot complications, the plot confused me hopelessly; the herky-jerky camera effects were just another annoyance to put up with. Happily, Lin's intensity chains your eyes to the screen (at least whenever she's on).

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6