[English] [Big5] [UTF-8]
Currently displaying UTF-8
梁素琴  ♀
Leung Siu-Kam
Leung So-Kam

Filmography (1949-1970)
  Actor (56 films)
    The Ancient Beauty, Meng Lijun (1949)    
    Top Singers Two (1952)    
    Story of Hong Mei (1955)    
    The Story of Lun Wenxu and Li Chunhua (1955)    
    Stealing the Beauty's Corpse at Night (1955)    
    The Golden-Thread Butterfly (1955)    
    Seven Swordsmen and Thirteen Knights, Part Two (1957)    
    An Orphan Raised on Love (1957)    
    May Heaven Bless You (1958) ... Lucy
    Miserable Daughter-in-Law (1959)    
    The Magic-Eyed Queen Spots the Prince (Part 2) (1959)    
    The Magic-Eyed Queen Spots the Prince (Part 1) (1959)    
    Another Three Years of Waiting (1959)    
    King Kong's Adventures in the Heavely Palace (1959)    
    The Blessed Family (1959)    
    Girl of Pitiable Fate (1959)    
    Butterfly and Red Pear (1959)    
    Filial Piety (1960)    
    The Story of the Great Heroes (Part 2) (1960)    
    The Story of the Great Heroes (Part 1) (1960)    
    Every Cloud Has a Silver Lining (1960)    
    Sweet Bitterness (1960)    
    The Book and the Sword (Part 1) (1960)    
    The Book and the Sword (Part 2) (1960)    
    Wong Fei-Hung's Battle with the Gorilla (1960) ... Wong So-Ping
    Intense Moment (1961) ... Mei's mother
    House of Kam Topples (Part 1) (1961) ... Ng Pui-Fong
    How Wong Fei-Hung Smashed the Five Tigers (1961)    
    House of Kam Topples (Part 2) (1961)    
    But Darling How Wrong You Were (1961)    
    Appointment with Death (1961)    
    The New Tale of the Flying Crane (Part 1) (1962) ... Imperial concubine
    Puppet Princess (1962)    
    A Perfect Match (1962) ... Lan's mother
    Sombre Night (1962) ... Tian's wife
    The Princess Presents Her Petition (1962)    
    Spring Comes to the Palace (1962)    
    A Stingy Fellow (1963) ... Tung
    Good Fortune of a Fool (1963) ... Chu Mei-Yung, landlady
    Hire a Wife (1963)    
    Student Prince (1964) ... Headmaster Lui
    The Tomb of the Roses (Part 1) (1964)    
    The 9 Phoenixes of the City (1964)    
    All Are Happy (1964)    
    The Tomb of the Roses (Part 2) (1964)    
    The Ambitious Prince (1965)    
    Tears of a Plum Blossom (1965)    
    Reunion (1965)    
    Jade in the Red Dust (Part 1) (1966)    
    Intimate Neighbours (1966) ... Mrs. Wong
    Jade in the Red Dust (Part 2) (1966)    
    Jade in the Red Dust (Grand Finale) (1966)    
    Four Sisters (1966) ... Eldest sister, Yuk-Chun
    The Merry Matrimony (1966) ... Wong Siu-Ngan/[Lead singer]
    Four Darling Daughters (1969) ... Headmistress Aileen Lee
    The Young Girl Dares Not Homeward (1970)    
  Leung So-kam came from a family of performers, both her parents were famed musicians in Guangdong. She moved to Hong Kong at age three, appearing on stage to sing and act. She quickly made a name for herself on the opera stage, her singing style was so unique and accomplished it was reverentially called "the Kam Sound". Leung made her screen debut in 1949, in the film The Ancient Beauty, Mang Lai-Kwun. A versatile actress, she played a wide variety of roles, from martial arts woman to strong-headed shrew to loving mother. She was paired frequently with the great comedian and opera star Leung Sing-po, the female Leung playing aging spinsters who have their eyes on the male Leung. (HKFA)