Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying English
風流家族 (2002)
Happy Family


Reviewed by: annelam
Date: 06/11/2002
Summary: yet another comedy... which fails to shine

When I first read the synopsis of the movie, I thought it would be an interesting show. However, I guess I must have brought in too much of high hopes as I left the cinema, slightly disappointed. The idea of a playboy (AH B) who's son (Nick) is going to marry one of his illigitemate child (Candy) is kinda fresh to me but I feel that the script was not developed properly. Also, there seems to be little chemistry between Candy Lo and Nick Cheung. They didn't look the least bit like brother/sister nor lovers. Ah B and Veronica Yip on the other hand did a better job in entertaining the audiences if compared to the two main actor/actress. I loved the way Ah B and Veronica went all out to fish for attention and fame. It's rediculously funny, highly exaggerated but downright to the point and hilarious! Anyway, I'd be surprised that anyone didn't figure out the ending of the movie. It's as predictable as 2+2=4. Yeah.. that's the rate i'll give this movie too... 4/10

Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 05/17/2002
Summary: Hmmm

Well, considering I wasn't expecting much from this romantic comedy (yes, another one), it's certainly not as bad as I expected. However, that's not to say it's particularly good though, as in all honesty the film is about absolutly nothing. Which is the biggest problem, 90 minutes of nothingness! However, unlike the majority of HK films, this doesn't beat about the bush when it comes to starting, because it jumps straight into the story within the first 2 minutes, just a shame the story was bad.

Kenny Bee has a much larger role in this than the recent 'Chinese Orthopedist and the Spice Girls', which is good to see him back, because I can see him retiring at any moment now, unfortunatly. His performance is okay, but with stupid comedy scenes he doesn't look right. Nobody else dos much better either though.

If you like youth orientated films with lots of canto-pop, young people jumping up and down, and lots of 'unfunny' jokes, then you will probably find it harmless enough. It's certainly better than 'Marry A Rich Man', although parts of the film are exactly the same as that.

Nothing new, but harmless enough.

Rating: 2.5/5

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: Yellow Hammer
Date: 05/08/2002
Summary: Really good movie!

This movie is a real hidden gem. It is perhaps the funniest HK romantic comedy I've seen since Needing You. OK, some of sequence of events in the movie are somewhat far-fetched and unbelievable, but then again so were the sequences in movies like Fat Choi Spirit too.

Little Han (Nick Cheung) is the heir apparent and owner of one of the largest and most influential real estate companies in HK. His parents Big Han (Kenny Bee) and his wife (Cecilia Yip) are publicity hounds, retired and hell bent on having their memoirs published by the best writer in all of HK Pig Yik (Almen Wong) and then have a movie made about their lives. Kaka (Candy Lo) is from a single parent family, a triad girl perhaps in a previous life, who's into jazz and who gets a job as a manager in the real estate company that Little Han runs. Funny cameos by director Herman Yau, Alfred Cheung, and Simon Lui as Prince Alan at the very end of the movie. By the way, don't quit on the movie when the credits roll. Amanda Lee plays Kaka's mother, the 'other' girl.

Candy in typical fashion is a tough girl that she plays so well in most of her movies. Every movie that she's been in she's done remarkably well, from Time and Tide to Twelve Nights, to her role in this movie and in Marry A Rich Man. The chemistry between she and Nick Cheung is quite good, despite some of the flaws in the storytelling. This is a testament to her very good acting abilities. I thought Nick was quite good in this movie as well.

References are made quite frequently to the classic 1983 movie Let's Make Laugh, which in the subtitles is referred to as the 'Seven Nightmares' movie. Not so coincidentally, Kenny Bee and Cecilia Yip were two of the main stars in that movie, with Alfred Cheung directing the movie.

I highly recommend this movie for some really good yuks. To be honest I've never heard Candy sing before, but now after this movie, I'm going to pick up a couple of her albums as well.


Reviewed by: Stardust
Date: 05/07/2002
Summary: Predictable, Why Bother?

What was Cecilia Yip thinking when she decided to take part in this movie? She's great here, but not even her flawless piece of work can save this movie.

A predictable story about affairs and possible incest. Am I the only one who was able to figure out the whole movie as soon as Nick Cheung found out Candy Lo could be his sister?

Chemistry-wise, Nick and Candy had no spark. Candy looks a little spooky at times, like she belongs to a cult. Cecilia and Kenny Bee are cute as the attention-craving couple, but only when they share scenes. Separately, Cecilia is the one that shines, the scene stealer of the whole movie.

Lastly, what's with putting the real ending after the credits? Do filmmakers really expect viewers to sit through plain boring credits with no deleted scenes and all? But honestly, even if you missed the end, its not a big loss.

Rating: 6/10 (without Cecilia Yip, I'd give 3/10)

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 04/26/2002
Summary: ok i guess

Ok this movie was funny. I did laugh out loud, there are great plot twists, do not think the movie is over until you are 100% it is over or you'll miss the REAL ending BUT all this a a poor story. they should of made mroe time developing the script. A movie is not good with just good twists, you goto tell the story well and this fails in that area. The movie seems to almost JUMP, meaning they fall in love, then almost get married and you dont feel like they know each other enough to do that!! But then again this is a comedy!!
I didn;t like it as much as the review below me but it's worth a watch. I am quite suprised to see Kenny bee too.........and he's looking old!!

6.5/10

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: snookie_1
Date: 04/24/2002
Summary: hey...i'm FIRST to review!!!

whew....this was a fun ride...the story was not as creative as i thought it would be but the script was written well...i gotta admit i'm not a big fan of candy lo but both her and bick cheung's performance were nice...best performance MUST go to cecilia yip tung for her outrageous "over the top but not too much" performance as nick's crazy mother who had 2 affairs...heh...very funny when she argues with her no-good husband played by kenny b...and the whole thing about that movie that they were in...simon lui yu yeung also had a nice cameo as "the little prince" or watever...heh...people who like candy's songs be on the lookout for the many songs featured in here...and if u watch the movie...don't turn off the vcr or dvd player be4 all the credits roll...cuz that's how i almost missed the end of this movie...=)...8.5/10

Reviewer Score: 8