谤kt] (2001)
Cop Shop Babes


Reviewed by: Hyomil
Date: 01/04/2011


Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 01/30/2010

After about five minutes into Cop Shop Babes, I had to hit a beer. After fifteen, I had to hit Jagermeister. And after a half-hour, I wanted to hit myself in the head for even wasting a spot in my Netflix queue for this. Cop Shop Babes is simply dreadful from beginning to end. It's the sort of movie that continually makes you question why exactly you're watching it.

Reviewer Score: 2

Reviewed by: ewaffle
Date: 12/03/2007

Since I would cheerfully walk over a bed of hot coals in order to watch the extremely attractive and monstrously talented Carina Lau do anything--recite the Shanghai Municipal Code in Slobvian, cross the street, breathe--I ignored all the usual indicators of a bad movie: almost universally bad reviews; exploding toilets; Wong Jing. “Cop Shop Babes” stuffs as many dumb jokes and beautiful women, some scantily clad, as possible into 90 minutes. While the ratio of hits to misses can be quite low and still make for a funny movie, they must do better than here. Too many scenes, including all of them with Cheung Tat-Ming as Eggplant/Eggy drag by on leaden feet.

It is the story of two losers, a buddy film about misfit cops who are assigned to a squad of attractive but naive female detectives. In the manner of many Hong Kong pictures the officers take time out from fighting crime—sometimes literally so—to fall in and out of love. They take time to figure out if Detective Beer has been dating both Babe Peggy and Babe Boney instead of chasing a fleeing villain who had been trying to kill them all. Just another day at the office (or in this case the ice factory) for the Hong Kong police.

Carina Lau’s efforts aren’t really wasted in this movie. She projects grace and class even when playing opposite Wong Jing who is doing a not at all funny imitation of Anthony Hopkins in “Silence of the Lambs”. While flogging that franchise to death—a joke that doesn’t work once can be forgotten quickly but if it pops up every ten minutes the audience begins to cringe—Aman Chang also takes time to refer to the “Lethal Weapon” movies much more often than appropriate. An appropriate number would be zero.

There are a few rewards for those who sit through this movie. Lee See-San is gorgeous with a face the camera loves. The hair and make-up people did a great job with her although her natural beauty made their job easy. The sight of Lam Wai-Ling in a soaked white shirt with her arms stretched (tied) above her head is not one I will forget soon. Cathy Tsui Chi-Kei and Lillian Ho are supposed to act cute and they do, while Rachel Fu does a lot with a winning smile. Kingdom Yeun plays the ugly duckling a role that she often gets.

Unfortunately the really atrocious parts of this movie far outnumber the ones that are simply not bad. And “not bad” is as good as “Cop Shop Babes” gets and only for a few short flashes.

Not recommended

Reviewer Score: 2

Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 05/20/2006
Summary: best of puerile buffoonery

Wong Jing steps in front of the camera to play a pivotal supporting role in a comedy film directed by Aman Chang that features Carina Lau Ka-Ling along with Eason Chan Yik-Shun and Jerry Lamb Hiu-Fung. Director Chang got his start working for Wong Jing as an assistant director and here he is serving as Wong’s stand-in behind the camera. This movie is 100% Wong Jing from start to finish although he doesn’t take any production credit on screen.

Cop Chop Babes opens with a lengthy prologue displaying the self-awareness that is part of Hong Kong movies. We meet the latest in a long line of goofy cop buddies, Beer [Eason Chan] and Satay [Jerry Lamb], as they break character and the 4th wall to introduce themselves to the audience. The screenplay written by veteran Sze-To Cheuk-Hon continues throughout with references to the police action films of the 1960’s to the 1990’s while parodying plenty of local and Hollywood box office hits. Action direction by Ma Yuk-Sing makes all the “babes” look cool. Co-starring funny man Cheung Tat-Ming as a cross-dressing low-life police informant, this film is the finest example of puerile buffoonery made in the 21st century [so far!].

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 05/02/2002
Summary: AWFUL

Well, ‘annelam’ has summed the movie up perfectly in my opinion, so I will just suggest you read that before watching it! Don’t expect anything original, funny or enjoyable about this mess.

Rating: [1/5]

Reviewer Score: 2

Reviewed by: annelam
Date: 05/01/2002

You won't be missing anything if you've missed this show. As usual, Wong Jing has the pretty girls prancing around with big busoms in bikinis and the hungry wolves circling their prey. What else is new? Nothing much except lots of lame jokes, absurb antics, sexy women, dumb men and a weak story-line. 1/10

Reviewer Score: 1

Reviewed by: smalltree
Date: 07/28/2001
Summary: Uninspiring

If you regard Wong Jing’s “boys picks up chicks” films (Romancing Star I/II/III and Crazy Companies) of the mid to late eights shallow and cheap (not me, I am a major fan of his work!), then maybe this film is not for you. Compared to “Cop Shop Babes” those Wong Jing films look like the best-scripted and acted movies in world (I be believe I am exaggerating a little).

Wong Jing has a cameo appearance in film that uses the same formula (lots of attractive woman and guys trying to crack on to them) that made him millions in the Honk Kong box office.

Paul Fox has already described the plot, so I will not. For me the plot was forgettable and the acting was uninspiring. Cheung Tat Ming was the only outstanding person out of the film with his female impersonations and strange antics.

Since the mid nineties, apart from a few exceptions, their has been steady decline in the quality Hong Kong movies and unfortunately I have yet to see any improvement.

Reviewer Score: 3

Reviewed by: Paul Fox
Date: 06/10/2001
Summary: Cop Shop Babes Fizzles Out...

Carina Lau is arguably one of the most talented actresses in Hong Kong.  She has appeared in several off Hong Kong's more reputable films and been a regular in the films of Wong Kar-Wai.  Even so she has never been afraid to let her hair down and take on a fun role, one need look no closer that her romp in the parody "Eagle Shooting Heroes".  Here again she takes on a role that is less than serious and brings her grace and charm to uplift the less than worthy script.

That being said there is little else that really redeems this film.  It somewhat mirrors the this years earlier release "Martial Angels", which also featured a highly talented actress in an underwritten role (Sandra Ng).  The formulae for both films seems almost identical, get a team of models to pose as an elite task force of some sort and when the opportunity presents itself, stick them in bikinis.  When a film begin to resort to hosing down the cast members while they are wearing skimpy t-shirts one can really see where the producers are banking their money.

The film does have its funny moments.  Wong Jing makes a comedic cameo as he tries to imitate Dr. Hannibal Lector and Jerry Lamb's attempt at romance using English songs a good for a few laughs, but for the most part its a typical comic book style comedy that is so frequent in Hong Kong.

The story itself about the team pursuing the exploits of a mad bomber proves less than interesting.  Indeed while exploding phone booths did make headlines for a few weeks in Hong Kong, it makes for rather dull big screen material.

Overall review rating : 2

Review by Paul Fox

Location:  Fanling Town Center
Time: Tuesday 29 May   5:50pm