情迷大話王
Everyday Is Valentine (2001)


Reviewed by: Dyogenez
Date: 05/11/2002
Summary: Enjoyable comedy

It seems most the reviews here strongly disliked this film o.0 I thought it was a very nice comedy-romance film. The storyline is simple: a lieing salesman meets a girl under false circumstances and has to continue the lie. The story itself has been done many many times, making it a little predictable. Even with the obvious result, it still kept my attention. During the 2nd half, however, it starts to get a little slow. It skips forward and changes locations a number of times, each one making me wonder how much more there was. In the end the resolution is perfect, thought could probably have been done more effectively. Cecilia Cheung is very cute and keeps attention on her throughout the picture. Overall it's a very cute picture! 8/10


Reviewed by: HaloKiti
Date: 04/28/2002
Summary: So boring so v.v boring

I never really liked Leon Lai and Cecilia Cheung that much, but that doesn't mean I would automatically dislike any movie they are in beforehand. This movie is about a girl who cannot stand liars and this guy that likes her who's a total liar. Their names are OK Lai and Wonderful, who are the morons that gave them those names.(The name, OK, is at least put into good use during a sex scene, oh OK!) She's been cheated on by previous boyfriends and he has just been unexpectedly dumped by his girlfriend of three years. He pretends to be the rich cousin of Wonderful's boss and she falls for it. Some other situations ensue and so on. Fill in blanks in between, put in some goofy parents and friends for spice and character. They fall in love(rather quickly), they break up, and they get back together. Everyone goes 'aw' at the very predictable end of this movie. I thought this movie was uninspired and plain nonsensical at times. The story of a pathological liar trying to reform himself for a girl could have been a more interesting story if put in other hands or if the film makers/producers actually cared about the quality of the movie. But I do admit that there are one or two scenes that makes me laugh.

I don't think anyone could have pulled this movie up anyways. Leon "acts" in this movie, hahaha, I'm joking. Cecilia once again cries and speaks in her darling supercute way. She did much better work in "Fly Me To Polaris" even if that movie was also not too great but still better than this. The best aspect of this movie is its use of location, from the church facade in Macau, the relocated gov't building in Aberdeen(i think?), to a Buddhist temple in Nepal. But I do have to say this movie doesn't travel around too much just probably 5 main locations or so. Some continuity problems also, such as how the characters travel from one side of HK to the other side in one scene.

My ratings is 1.5/4 or 11 yawns out of 10.

Reviewer Score: 3

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 04/15/2002
Summary: Poor

Same old Wong Jing romance concept, with as much charm as a dead person. It actually starts out resonably positive, but soon becomes obvious nothing will change. It's like watching any Wong Jing romance film over and over, because they never often change at all.

Rating: 1.5/5


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 02/08/2002
Summary: PRetty good but........

A very funny movie at the first half of the movie, then all the momentum stops and the 2nd half is a bore!!

What shame!! If they sepnt a little more time tidying up the 2nd half, a lot more people would of voted this movie one of the funniest of the year!!

Still worth watching though.

6/10

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Sasami
Date: 07/20/2001
Summary: Disappointing

With big names on the cover, I expected this movie to entertain me. I was wrong.

What a snoozer! It's yet another boy-meets-girl, boy-loses-girl story; I wasn't even sympathetic with any of the characters! Cecilia Cheung's character starts looking for a guy immediately after breaking up with one. Leon Lai's acting here was a little better than some of his previous attempts, but at the end, I really didn't care if the main characters got together or not!

Not a BAD movie, just an unimaginative one with a bland plotline and acting.


Reviewed by: future113
Date: 06/20/2001
Summary: Could be a great movie but falls short


Well this romantic comedy could have been a great movie but unfortunately the plot is lacking. Cecilia Cheung was very pretty in this movie and I think that's the only highlight of the film. The whole premise of this movie though is what needs to be worked on. It's about a guy (Leon Lai) who is a constant liar and meets Cecilia. Well Cecilia plays an innocent 21 year old gir who just found out that her only boyfriend cheated on her. So after breaking up with the boyfriend, she meets Lai in which Lai gives her a false impression that he is a multi-millionare. So the rest of the story involves situations where Lai has to constantly lie and cover up himself. Funny at times but overall I would give this movie a 6.6 out of 10.


Reviewed by: magic-8
Date: 06/05/2001
Summary: Pleasant but Middling Movie

Wong Jing tries to update himself by putting out "Everyday is Valentine," a romantic comedy starring Leon Lai and Cecilia Cheung. Gone, at least in this movie, is the lowbrow humor for which Wong Jing is known. Instead, we get Wong's version of an urbane, sophisticated comedy invloving a pathological liar (Lai as OK) and a young woman (Cheung as Wonderful) who has yet to reach puberty.

"Everyday is Valentine" is an entertaining but middling comedy that lacks Wong's usual acerbic wit and, most of all, his sense of parody and merciless lampooning of convention. We only get a touch of this when we meet Wonderful's parents, and the father in particular, played by Ng Man Tat, Wong's oft used comedic foil.

"Everyday is Valentine" doesn't really reach any new height. It tries to be funny and compassionate about its characters, but the familiar themes are not as outlandish as the audience expects. The actors do a nice job but aren't consistent with the material. Lai does a fine turn through most of the film, but pales towards the end. Cheung, who is normally alive and vivacious, is a bit too mundane and bland. The typical happy ending did nothing to enhance the story, which didn't give the stars anything too difficult to deal with. "Everyday..." is a fine date movie when there isn't much else around.


Reviewed by: rolandyu
Date: 06/02/2001
Summary: hmm....

Well, despite the familiar stars, this movie is quite dissapointing for me. You get the story from the other reviews. I bought this for a bargain. More than half price less, from a friend who didn't enjoy it. One other reason I bought this was because Cecilia Cheung is in it. Nothing interesting about the story, just a plain romantic comedy which doesn't really look like a romantic comedy.

6/10


Reviewed by: zarrsadus
Date: 05/29/2001
Summary: Good way to pass time

Ooookay, I'm not going to compete with Paul Foronoff's copyrighted (huh?) review which pretty much tells you all you need to know about this film. My two cents, however, is to say that while the plot may not have been the best, you won't be disappointed by watching Everyday is Valentine. The genre is romantic comedy, so I got what I expected, a kind of cheesey romantic comedy about OK Lai, the man who is a professional liar, and Wonderful, the beautiful office worker who hates men who tell lies. Just from this you pretty much can imagine how the movie turns out, and while Wong Jing does throw us a few plot twists when I thought the opposite was going to happen, the ending is exactly as you'd expect from a romantic comedy. Maybe not the winner for film of the year, but if you're bored or are a guy and have your girlfriend over, you won't mind sitting through this movie and enjoying yourself. 7 out of 10.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Paul Fonoroff
Date: 05/24/2001

Times may change, Hong Kong cinema may change, but Wong Jing pictures have a timeless quality. This is not to say they are classics, but that the master producer-director-writer churns out pictures with the same formulas he has employed for close to two decades. The major difference is that audience tastes have changed since Wong’s box office heyday—and, indeed, the heyday of Cantonese cinema—of the early 1990s, so that nowadays his movies, while still catering to a “lowest common denominator”, can no longer attract throngs of ticket buyers. Everyday Is Valentine (sic) boasts two huge idols in a moderately budgeted Wong-style pastiche (comedy-farce-romance) that even has some on-location shooting in Macao and Nepal. Not only do these attractions fail to overcome the sloppy and trite storyline, but that the targeted Easter holiday youth crowd is hardly stampeding theatre ticket offices.

Leon Lai is OK and Cecelia Cheung is Wonderful, OK Lai and Wonderful Cheung to be exact. He’s a direct descendant of Pinocchio whose silver tongue has helped him get many a girl (the film’s Chinese title translates as “The Charming Boasting King”). She’s a sweet young working girl who abhors liars. You can predict the rest. It’s not that the plot in these things matters so much, but the stale way in which Wong embellishes it turns Everyday Is Valentine into a fizzy soda without the fizz. Even such comic stalwarts as Kingdom Yuen King-tan and Ng Mang-tat as Wonderful’s mom and grandpa are unable to enliven the proceedings. They simply aren’t very funny, and the fault doesn’t lie with their comedy prowess.

There are occasional sparks of over-the-top humor that hit the spot, such as a bungled attempt at debt collecting by a Macao loan shark who threatens to rape Wonderful. Mama, grandma, and even grandpa volunteer to take her place, behavior that would be considered non-PC in the West but whose outrageousness is welcome in this sea of blandness.

Fans will enjoy the interpolated Leon and Cecelia song montages against the picture postcard backgrounds of Macao fireworks and the ancient temples of Katmandu. Travel ads and music videos achieve the same result in one-tenth the time.

2 Stars

This review is copyright (c) 2001 by Paul Fonoroff. All rights reserved. No part of the review may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Reviewer Score: 4