Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying English
驅魔道長 (1993)
Exorcist Master


Reviewed by: hoppingghost
Date: 04/20/2005
Summary: East Vs. West - Great film a must see, Lam in Drag Again

This film is good and deals with a comical approach to east vs. west religons, With LCY making the jokes of course as hes fighting the vampire of a western preacher in a old abandoned church Lam pokes fun at the rituals of the catholics in silly antics and its a fun film with alot of the Mr Vampire trappings some like this film some do not but I would like to recommend it personally.


Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 09/26/2003

In yet another one of Lam Ching-Ying's long line of "hopping vampire" movies, he once again returns as a Taoist priest. The twist this time out is that a Western church has set up shop in town, bringing with it Western vampires. At first, Lam is reluctant about the church's priest (Wu Ma), but eventually befriends him and they team up to take out the new and deadly Eastern/Western hybrid vampires.

Exorcist Master isn't nearly as good as some of classics in this genre like Mr. Vampire. The script meanders about a lot, switching between flat comedy and dopey romance for most of the running time. But, once the film comes together, it's a pretty fun ride. The Eastern/Western vampire is one of the cooler gimmicks I've seen in this type of movie, and Lam Ching-Ying puts in his usual solid performance. If you're into the whole hopping vampire thing, then Exorcist Master is worth a look. More casual viewers might not be as thrilled, but die-hard fans will eat this up.


Reviewed by: ButterflyMurders
Date: 06/05/2002
Summary: I guess I was a little harsh the first time around

I've just read what I wrote about this film a few years ago (as ElectraWoman). I have to say I was a little harsh, so I'll review the film again after a re-viewing.

I think this time around I'll take a middle ground. I personally won't recommend this BUT it's not a total waste of time. I have to give credit to this film for giving a more balanced view on Christianity in China. In most films Christianity is portrayed in an unflattering light. It's more accurately portrayed here-it was actually welcomed in places because having churches introduced trade and Western goods to the people.

Another plus for me is that Lam Ching-Ying doesn't play his typical, emotionally strait-jacketted taoist priest. In "Exorcist Master" he's a lot more fiesty. This priest pisses on the doors of a derelict church, bangs out traditional chinese music in the middle of mass, and dresses up as a woman to attend one before criticizing the priest and biting him hard on the finger. Wu Ma also steps out of his usual roles, as the rather sedate catholic Father.

Third plus-the sets are el cheapo. The intro, where the priests are killed by an evil spirit is unintentionally hiliarious because of a) the cheap props and b) the CHEAP church that effectively nullifies the attempt to create atmos(f)ear. And that church dominates most of the action too! It's a shame that the props and sets look so cheap, because like most Wu Ma films there is some nice camera work-an especially nice part is when the priests are walking through the countryside on their way towards the village. That looked very nice.

Fourth plus-neon crosses as weapons against the main vampire. Neon crosses rule. That's all I have to say.

Fifth plus-As expected with LCY ghostbuster films, the taoist ritual sequences are a treat to watch.

Still, all these pluses are still not enough to make up for the comic scenes, which take up a very large chunk of the film. They're boring, unfunny and it's easy to lose interest in the proceedings. "Exorcist Master" is a different, and at times mildly interesting take of the generic vampire genre but it could have been better. 5.5/10


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 03/03/2002
Summary: Ignore these guys, it's great!

Oh no... it's a ghost! Oh no... it's a hopping vampire! Oh no, it's two well-meaning but bumbling students of the Taoist master! Oh no, it's a catholic priest! Hmmm, wait a minute, that isn't scary. But no - he's played by Wu Ma! Eek! Not to fear though, here comes Lam Ching Ying in full eyebrow mode - he won't let anything really bad happen, will he?

Except that this time our favourite Mr. Vampire has a new challenge to face when the Catholic church brings more than some hymns to his Chinese village - now we have a western vampire in town, something that his Taoist trainings never prepared him for. And when the western vampire gets crossed with a bunch of Chinese gyonsi the situation gets even worse. Soon you don't know who's going to be hopping about with pointy fingernails one minute, and who's going to fly up and suck your blood the next. What's a vampire buster to do?

The formula Lam Ching Ying + Vampires is quite simply foolproof... it is just not possible for a bad movie to ensue. Whilst Exorcist Master is in no way the equal of the original, it does manage to add enough new ideas into the mix to keep it interesting. True, there's a section in the middle which is weighed down by inane eastern/western culture clash & innuendo/toilet humour. But cut to the chase and you've got completely unscary vampires, crazy Taoist rituals and a whole load of top drawer stunt work / action scenes. Ngai Sing has a rare role as a good guy here... more naive than menacing, but still demonstrating some great athletic talent and passable kung fu knowledge. One of the gwei lo faces you'll have seen before does a splendid job as the western vampire too - thankfully a non-speaking role :D

I really have no idea why the other reviewers here have dissed it so much... lighten up guys!

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 02/05/2002
Summary: yawn

Although not a ghost/vampire film fan, this was pretty terrible compared to others like this. Pretty much agree with the other reviewers. I haven't seen this for years, anddo certainly not want to have to put up with it again before giving it a proper review. Enough said.

Rating: 2/5


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 01/09/2002
Summary: Boring!!

The only good part of the film ws the last part. Not only because it was finishing, but the idea of a western vampire, turning back into a eastern vampire and vice versa was actually a great idea!!

Apart from that, those expecting a Mr Vampire clone will be disappointed. The script tries to be funny, and in some parts it is but the middle part just seemed too boring. The script seems under developed!!

Lan Ching Ying plays the usual taoist part while Ngai Sing is quite annoying, especially looking at that "bowl" haircut which puts me off!!

Could of been a lot worst but it;s still pretty bad, with it;s redeeming feature the last action scene!!

4/10


Reviewed by: ElectraWoman
Date: 10/29/2000
Summary: 1.5/10-Goddamnit this wasted my $3

This seems interesting-a Taoist priest and a Catholic priest competing for the attention of the townsfolk. But the plot is uninspiring and the cheap sets do nothing to help. You gotta love the neon crosses at the end. Apart from that, this is really boring. Great for insomniacs, I guess.


Reviewed by: STSH
Date: 03/19/2000
Summary: Offbeat but dull

Not quite a Lam Ching Ying's typical Taoist film. This one spends much time poking fun at the Catholic church's traditions from a traditional Chinese viewpoint. The pace is too slow, and the laughs and scares too few and rather forced.

Reviewer Score: 3