大三元 (1996)
Tri-Star


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 03/09/2003
Summary: Average

2.5/5


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 05/03/2001
Summary: OK

I really thought i wrote a review on this, but then again i am having troubles just login in right now!!

Anyway with 3 big stars you have big expectations..........and mine was squashed!! This is a silly movie and LCW seems to be wasted and his character i can't stand!!

IT's does have it's funny parts but they are few and far between!!

This apprently earned heaps of money but i can't see why audiences would go back for a 2nd showing........

5/10


Reviewed by: grimes
Date: 04/09/2000

A very funny and clever, though not brilliant, film. Everything pulled together really well except for some extraneous music video/singing scenes that probably would make a little more sense if I knew what the lyrics were. I have a prejudice against scenes that are set to entire songs with no dialogue. That's just me though.

Tri-Star is very funny and it has good performances from everyone in it. It was kind of weird to see Anita Yuen playing someone who:

Had long hair.

Appeared to be older than 18.

Recommended light entertainment because who doesn't love Anita Yuen?


Reviewed by: hktopten
Date: 12/21/1999

If no one told me Tsui Hark directed this, I wouldn't know. The beginning scenes are somewhat reminiscent of the late 80's Cinema City Clifton Ko films. I actually liked Leslie in this film. Anita seems to be getting back SOME of her magic. The oddball cop pair of Lau Ching Wan and Chan Kam Hung (fresh off of a similar character with Felix Wong Yat Wah on TVB's Criminal Investigator) has potentials. For all the good intentions, the effort was wasted again by lack of focus. A lot more could have been done with Shing Fui On as the priest. Need a rewatch for a final verdict.


Reviewed by: kjohnson
Date: 12/09/1999

From the posters, lobby cards and cast (directed by Tsui Hark,starring Anita Yuen Wing Yee, Leslie Cheung and Lau Ching Wun) this looked like it would be a great movie. Instead, it's a total mess, with much of it looking like the script was made up on the spot. However, Yuen Wing Yee is very sexy (yes, really!) and any male Yuen Wing Yee fans will at least enjoy that aspect of the movie. (For all I know, Leslie's part may have the same effect on his female fans.)


Reviewed by: Crap
Date: 12/09/1999

Tri-star... Weird movie indeed... Leslie Cheung plays a priest, who wants to help, the prostitute, Anita Yuen to start over and begin a whole new life... In between this two dumb and dumber cops (Lau Ching-Wan, Chan Kam-Hung) are watching Anita Yuen, because they think she works illegal for the gang leader DINOSAUR (whom i cant take to serious).. I did have a few good laughs afterall..cause the movie was so far out sometimes.... I wouldnt recommend this movie..but if u like a good popsong, and some bad jokes this is the one!!

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

This could be the last film directed by Tsui Hark in HK before moving to Hollywood but he seems bored. Likewise the leads seem to look forward only to their pay-checks. The film start off well-enough but eventually become unfocus and uninteresting. In this film perhaps to resurrect Cinema City, the few better scenes might have been references to past glories of Tsui Hark and Cinema City productions: e.g. the car chase [Aces Go Places series], mistaken identity [All the Wrong Clues/Spies] and one perhaps from A CHINESE GHOST STORY (the nocturnal prositutes' reaction to sunlight). If you have no objection on a film marketed mainly on its cast (the producers made no pretense about this) then this film is probably fine.

(5.9/10)



[Reviewed by Christopher Fu]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Bai Xuehua (Anita Yuen) has it tough: she's a whore, her boyfriend has just ditched her (but not before dropping a one million dollar debt and some loan sharks into her life), and a gang leader wants to rent her off to the Arabians for five years. And she has no tits. As do-nothing cop Lau Ching Wan watches from his car, a Catholic priest (Leslie Cheung) sets out to redeem the poor girl and her three call-girl buddies by getting them to be Afga film store girls...and start a rock band. Meanwhile, the gang mistakes the priest for a mainland triad chief, the priest and hooker start to fall for one another, and the cop is in the hands of Bai's mentally-unstable sister, who's been sworn to secrecy about.... Gadzooks, these HK movie plots sure can get complicated! The plot gets so unwieldy that it starts to sag under the force of gravity (something Anita Yuen need never worry about), causing a certain amount of audience indifference. In the final scenes, the movie turns into a HK version of Sister Act, only adding to its burden of unwatchability. \

(2/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 5