Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying Big5
ۤ (1995)
Tricky Business


Reviewed by: Tonic
Date: 05/09/2008

Surprisingly entertaining, although the Universe DVD edition has broken subtitles (you'll find dialogue seems to get swapped between the people in conversations) - confused the hell out of me at first.

Well recommended if you liked Wong Jings decent films (such as City Hunter).


Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 01/27/2006

Wong Jing produces a follow up to his film Tricky Brains [1991] featuring Lau Ching Wan and Anita Yuen in a hilarious slapstick comedy directed by Lee Lik-Chi. Intricate screenplay was co-written by the director and Vincent Kok.

I saw this film at the Music Palace on New York City on a Sunday afternoon in the spring of 1995. The theatre was filled almost to capacity and there was plenty of out loud laughing all throughout the show. This film features a stand out performance by Law Kar-Ying, one of my favorite comedic actors. His character's tricks are funny as anything you might see in one of these wacky comedies.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 05/02/2002
Summary: BAD

Oh this is bad. Why Lau Ching Wan agreed to do this film is beyond me, like ‘Sydneyguy’ said, this would have been a better role for Stephen Chow. It’s supposed to be a comedy, but the story is very poor and far from funny.

Avoid

Rating: [1.5/5]

Reviewer Score: 3

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 05/03/2001
Summary: OK-ish

This movie tries to be a Chow Sing Chi movie but can't sustain the laughs!!

The movies starts off well enough and then it's LCW the Tricky King vs the Tricky Emperor!! But LCW accidently blinds this woman and he soon falls in love with her..............but thats only half the story!!

All performances are great, it's just the script that is a let down. There are laughs but not continual laughs and some jokes just dont' work!! But sitll worth a watch!!

6/10



Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: jfierro
Date: 12/21/1999

Lau Ching-Wan is the "King of Pranks" with high moral standardswho must square off in a battle against the "Emperor of Pranks", the leader of an opposing prank faction who has no pity. Although there are some pretty funny moments, there is a lot of dead time. Not nearly as funny as its predecessor TRICKY BRAINS. This is a film best saved for when there's nothing else at the video store.


Reviewed by: kjohnson
Date: 12/09/1999

A total waste of time. It looks like it was turned out in a weekend, with sets made of painted cardboard and a script that was made up on the spot. Don't bother seeing it in the theatre; don't bother renting it on video. The worst thing I've seen Yuen Wing Yee in since Prince of Portland Street. What's surprising is that they managed to make a really good trailer out of this. Don't be fooled. The trailer is 10 times as entertaining as the movie.


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

I don't know how they didn't like it! I loved it! I haven't laughed so often at any film for a long time! It has plenty of wacky and clever stuff...The "tricks" are hilarious and Law Ga Ying makes me laugh just thinking about him...SoftHard were damn hilarious as well... What was interesting was the "ripoff" of C'est la vie, mon cherie (sun but liu ching) inserted in it that changes the pace of the movie. At first, you think, oh man what a stupid ripoff...but the film actually resurrects the charm and chemistry of c'est la vie...it selfconsciously and self-deprecatingly lulls you into loving the little romance story in SPITE of everything...weird... And furthermore, what's remarkable about the film is that it is damn funny yet contains relatively LITTLE tasteless humour. So this movie is refreshingly "clean" in it's humour and is more or less suitable for kids (a rarity nowadays)....

[Reviewed by Brian Lam]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Strange flick, even by HK standards. Tricky Ho Kung (Lau Ching Wan) is an exponent of the Straight-Faced Faction of practical joking; his rival the Charming Tricky Emperor is a member of the Plot and Set-Up Faction. When blind Moon (Anita Yuen, who stars in about a film a month) and her sister show up on the scene, Kung and his two assistants don't see the set-up until it's too late. Remote-controlled bananas, "nuclear electricity" pills, a knife-wielding lobster, and worse make for some of the wackiness in a frequently funny, even more frequently stupid slapstick comedy.

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6