ľK®±II (1994)
Drunken Master II


Reviewed by: kiliansabre
Date: 09/11/2006
Summary: Fantastic

Jackie Chan once again portraits the more carefree and mischievous Wong Fei Hung that he popularized with Drunken Master. This time Wong Fei Hung finds himself the opponent of the exportation of Chinese artifacts by traitor (and Chan's bodyguard at the time) Ken Lo. Amongst the battles with his parents (Ti Lung and Anita Mui in prize acting roles), Fei Hung eventually takes the enemy straight on along with help from his friends.

The martial arts choreography is truly a feast for the eyes with Chan displaying what is for the most part wire-free drunken martial arts. The acting from all roles, including secondary, is excellent which only adds to the value of the whole piece. About 60% of this is fighting done under the expert direction of Liu Chia-Liang and later Chan himself. Several note worthy secondary roles include: Chin Kar Lok, Andy Lau, 70/80s actors Lau Ga-Yung and Felix Wong, among others. Overall all performances are up to par and quality martial arts displayed by all.

If you haven't seen it already, why not? Incidentally, the Hong Kong version includes an extended ending featuring Wong Fei Hung as a bit retarded after drinking the industrial alcohol, in what is described as a temporary condition. The best version I have seen was an early American dub where the translation was hilarious and lively, a far cry from the cut for American audiences "Legend of Drunken Master". At any rate any copy obtained should be enjoyable.

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: cal42
Date: 05/29/2006
Summary: I just don't get it

I first saw this in the year of its release, before its reputation had been made. I must admit I’ve been baffled ever since at the kind of reaction it’s had from fans.

I think now what I thought then – Drunken Master 2 is an OK film with a stunning final twenty minutes. It’s certainly nice that Jackie acknowledges the influence of the mighty Shaw Brothers style of filmmaking for once, this being directed by Lau Kar-Leung and featuring Mr Shaw Brothers himself, Ti Lung.

However, as everybody knows, Jackie and Lau had a bit of a falling out resulting in the final section being directed by Jackie alone. I have to admit that I wish he’d done the whole thing himself; such is the quality of the last twenty minutes. The two were quick to point out that there were no hard feelings (Chan allowing Lau to direct the Jackie-less Drunken Master 3), but it’s sad that these two icons couldn’t work together better. Andy Lau appears at the start and rumour has it that he was supposed to return later in the movie, but when Lau Kar-Leung left project he took Andy with him.

Some good performances from the Shaw set (Ti Lung is an interesting choice for Jackie’s father – he’s only about 10 years older than him!) and the late Anita Mui plays well as Jackie’s stepmother.

Still, I can’t help thinking that this isn’t as good as it should have been and certainly not as good as the original. Maybe I just don’t “get” it, which happens sometimes.

Having said that, you’d have to prise the Thakral DVD (with the original Cantonese soundtrack subbed in English with none of the cuts imposed by the Evil Empire) out of my cold, dead hands. The thing’s as rare as hen’s teeth nowadays!

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Gaijin84
Date: 08/01/2005
Summary: Arguably the greatest Chan movie ever...

Jackie Chan returns to the role of Wong Fei-hong in this spectacular martial-arts bonanza that features an interesting plot, great actors and fight scenes that will have you watching this film over and over.

Wong Fei-hong (Chan) is up to mischief as always, and comes into posession of a jade seal during a mix-up of luggage on a train. The movie takes place during the early part of the twentieth century, and the British are exploiting the Chinese for labor and also exporting some of the country's most valuable treasures back to England. After Wong confronts some of the Chinese that are participating in this disrespectful practice, he is forced to break out the Drunken style. Unfortunately, he gets a little out of control and hits his own father by accident, and must leave the house as punishment. After being humiliated by the British smugglers and their Chinese cronies, Wong decides to confront the whole lot at a steel factory with the help of some of the workers who are being taken advantage of. The end result is the most incredible 15-20 minutes of fights you'll ever witness on film, with the final showdown between Wong and the leader of the Chinese smugglers (Ken Lo, who is Jackie's bodyguard in real life) topping the whole thing off and leaving you speechless.

Although the plot gets a little confusing, no one ever really watches a Jackie Chan movie for the story. You want to see great martial arts fighting, and this movie delivers on that front more than almost any other movie I've ever seen. Jackie is at the top of his game, using random objects as weapons, performing incredible stunts and throwing himself into harm's way at every turn in order to make scenes more exciting for the audience. He also gets to use some of his comedic gifts as well in the film. Anita Mui adds a great comedic touch as Wong's step-mother and steals the scenes she appears in. A must for any Jackie Chan fan, and also for anyone who enjoys a great kung-fu movie. This film does not disappoint on any level.
10/10

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 09/25/2003

Jackie Chan returns as Wong Fei-Hung, the folk hero he took to stardom in the first Drunken Master movie. While helping his dad bring back some medicine, Fei-Hung accidentally switches packages with a mysterious old kung fu master (Lau) and obtains a rare Chinese artifact. Eventually, Fei-Hung finds out about a smuggling ring taking some of China's most precious treasures and decides to try and stop them.

This was Chan's first "traditional" martial arts movie in about 10 years (after making cop pictures like Police Story), but Chan clearly hadn't lost a step. Not only is Drunken Master II his best traditional film, it's his best movie period. Watching this movie for the first time is a thing of pure enjoyment. The plot develops at a breezy pace; you never can really dwell on facts such as Fei-Hung's mother (Mui) looks younger than him. Speaking of Mui, she's a refreshing change of pace from the airheaded females featured in recent Chan films. She steals the show in every scene she's in as Fei-Hong's wise-cracking mah jongg-addicted mother. Ti Lung also gives a believably stern performance as Fei-Hong's exasperated dad.

But what's a Jackie Chan movie without action? Believe me, once you see the fight scenes in Drunken Master II, most others (even Chan's) pale in comparison. Words cannot do these masterpieces justice. If the climatic fight between Fei-Hung and two thugs (played by Ken Lo, Chan's real-life bodyguard and Ho Sung Pak, the model for many of the characters in the popular "Mortal Kombat" video game) doesn't get your pulse going, you must be dead or severely intoxicated. Supposedly, the fight took months to film and it shows. Chan has never looked better.

Do yourself a favor and hunt this down -- you won't be disappointed.


Reviewed by: SteelwireMantis
Date: 07/24/2003
Summary: This movie KICKS ASS!!!!!!

This movie is one of my favourite Jackie Chan flims of all time (including 'Project A', 'Police Story' 'Drunken Master' and 'S.I.T.E.S'). I was blown away!

DM2 follows the story of a young Wong Fei Hung (Chan) who lands into deep trouble after getting drunk and beating up thugs who attack his mother (Anita Mui), and attacking his well-respected father, Wong Ki Ying (Ti Lung) in public. After been beaten badly by his father and the bad guys (when he's drunk) Fei-Hung promises never to touch booze again. Soon Fei Hung realises that the local steel factory is smuggling Chinese heritage to foreign museums, with the help of local villagers, Fei Hung sets out to save historical artefacts.

This movie starts off as a comedy, with Anita Mui's mahjong scene and the confusion between Liu Chia Liang's character and Fei Hung, but then leans towards a more serious kung fu movie theme. Who cares? As the movie gets serious, so does the action. Some very great fight scenes, as Jackie takes on thugs in an adrenaline-fuelled ambush at a teahouse and the jawdropping finale (featuring the infamous fight between Jackie Chan and his bodyguard Ken Lo). This movie can't go wrong. It seems to get better whenever I see it.

Truly amazing. *****/*****

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: balstino
Date: 07/04/2003
Summary: Very Good, but a little uninvolving..

I liked this but it was a bit on the surface. It has great fights and Anita Mui is hilarious (I don't usually like her). I have to say though, after a few viewings it definitely grows on you so yes I give it the thumbs up!


Reviewed by: Chungking_Cash
Date: 01/26/2003

While "Drunken Master II" is not the "Citizen Kane" of Hong Kong cinema or the "Casablanca" of the martial arts subgenre or even Jackie Chan's best film for that matter -- it's an unequivocal display of Chan's patent comedic gung fu. Dissimilar to other Jackie Chan films of this period "Drunken Master II" allows co-star Anita Mui to come within reach of upstaging the film's narcissistic star.

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: zarrsadus
Date: 05/27/2002
Summary: Decent

Well I decided to rewatch this movie and bought the US released DVD... big mistake, english dub only!?!? >_<. Okay my only gripe with this movie is how a US DVD can't include the original language tracks... Anyways, even though the quality was worse I recommend the VCD or HK version DVD of this film so that you can hear the movie in it's original language. That being said, this was another good Jacky Chan film, maybe not his best after seeing the amazing Accidental Spy, but certainly funny with that trademark humor. Definately worth the watch even in English language. Overall 8/10.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 04/03/2002
Summary: I almost couldn't believe it

Even if you have to put up with the Dub, you must see this movie. This is the Jackie Chan movie that changed my mind about him. Before seeing this, I had always disliked the guy and his movies. They were fun to watch, but still I thought he sucked. Of course, I must have been blind to think that, but I awe my dues to DM2 for opening my eyes. See it if only for the incredible fight scenes, which had made this one of the best hard core/straight forward martial arts movies of all time. The finale is the best fight scene I have ever seen; and coming from me--one of the biggest fans of the genre (I've seen 200 kung fu movies)--that's a lot. Also, I'm sure nobody is aware of this, but this movie combines the best fight-actor from movie and TV: Jackie Chan and Felix Wong, respectively. Felix Wong has been in numerous TVB wuxia (martial arts) series and is considered by most people the number one actor of period series. His kung fu is also very good.

If anyone thinks he should see Drunken Master 1 first--since this one is a sequel--not so. This is a perfect stand-alone that has no connection with the original. It's not one of those whose prequel needs to be seen first (or at all, in this case).

[9/10]

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 01/12/2002
Summary: Not bad, but no more than a average Jackie

Obviously nothing like the original, Jackie Chan finally made a sequel to one of his best loved movies, 15 years later!

A completly different approach to the original in this movie, and it does not work out the way Jackie had hoped, as he has admited in interveiws before. The comedy is not really there, well he tries. The action on the other hand is a lot more frequent and brutal. The story is not very good, and Anita Mui is annoying as hell, she just got worse and worse in her movies. Ti Lung plays his father well though, and Jackie is not too bad as far as acting goes. I thought the ending was a big let down though, and totally blew it from making a 4 out of 5 for me.

Rating (out of 5): 3

(This rating is based on the year & genre, so don't think it's based as a comparison on new releases etc.)

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: DrunkenMonkey
Date: 12/12/2001
Summary: Jackie Chan's Best Film

Ever since 1992's "Police Story 3 Supercop", Jackie Chan had been losing his audience. He didn't desperately need a great film, but he did need a saver. So, he chose to continue with a sequel to his first blockbuster hit, "Drunken Master". Great choice, Jackie! This film broke all Hong Kong box office records. Featuring wonderful music by Wai Lap Wu, and great cinematography, this is a no-can-miss martial arts comedy. Directed by Lau Kar-Leung and Jackie, who had some...er..."creative" differences: Lau wanted to use wires for the fights, while Chan wanted to do it really. Nice thinking, Jackie, again. This film is simply wonderful, portraying a young Wong Fei-hung (portrayed by numerous people, including Jet Li). Released in the US as the goofy "The Legend of Drunken Master" in 2000. Without a doubt, Jacke Chan's best film - it couldn't have been better.


Reviewed by: rzach
Date: 07/20/2001
Summary: Pretty cool

I completely agree that this is one of the best kungfu movie evermade. Most of you seems only remind one man Jacky Chan, you forget one person Ti Lung (who stole the show)and support Jacky to made this movie to be remember as 10/10.

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: natty
Date: 05/28/2001
Summary: so so gooood

yeah dis movie is cool so cool to deny it all what it deserves.You need not hear more.It's enjoyable and>>>>....well so many reviews so i need say no more.so just watch if you have never done so. In the U.S it is Legend of Drunken Master. and its a major Kick ass.**** Very enjoyable with that six pack in the Fridge.


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 05/05/2001
Summary: Pretty good

A movie where Jackie is trying to get it's viewers to get the message that drinking ain't good for you!! This is pretty good and the action at the end is just GREAT!!

8/10

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: resdog781
Date: 07/31/2000
Summary: One of Jackie's Best, I tell you!

This one beats them all. Fuhgedaboudit!!! Jackie Chan plays a goofy lazy-ass Wong Fei-Hung, who discovers during a fight with some pickpockets that drunken kung-fu can really kick some ass if you're really drunk! Some amazing fight sequences and wire-fu, and that scene where Jackie gets knocked over and crawls across a REAL pit of burning charcoal....Ouch. Also great are Anita Mui as Fei-Hung's wiseass mom (she steals the show when she pretends she's pregnant), and Ken Lo as one of the nastiest kickboxing bad guys you'll ever come across. How does he stand on one foot for that long?! =) Anyway HANDS DOWN this is one of Jackie's best films. "Rumble In The *Where*?"


Reviewed by: Chuma
Date: 07/12/2000
Summary: You can mix Red and White wine and get away with it!


This story begins with Wong Fei Hung (Jackie) trying to help his father
with his medical practice by sneaking Ginseng past the soldiers
(and thus avoiding paying the duty) at a crowded railway station.
The thing is though, he loses the Ginseng and ends up in a fight
with a mysterious stranger only just making it back to the train
when it is leaving.

Back home a customer comes to get his Ginseng and his mother
(Anita Mui) covers for him and comes up with a substitute.
Later on, while trying to make some money to buy some real
Ginseng, his mum is accosted by some dodgy blokes and he ends
up demonstrating 'Drunken Boxing' to the crowd (you can mix red
and white wine and get away with it.)

Everyone in the town seems to be pleased, but his dad is really
pissed off and kicks him out of the house, also the dodgy dudes
(who also own the steel mill) come back and kick the crap out of
him (since he is really drunk this time).

After being found hanging naked from a pole wearing only a banner
(and recuperating for a bit) the bloke he fought at the start
comes to his house asking about The Emperor's Jade Seal that he
found on the train, after this they go to a tea house to discuss
matters, but a few hundred univited guests interrupt them...

I have this movie on tape at home and decided to watch it today
because there was nothing better on (and I had already watched
Batman : The Movie (1966 version) and Destroy All Monsters), but
I was surprised how good all the action sequences seemed after
seeing Jackie's more recent movies that are meant to be more
'action packed'.

I would recommend this movie to you whether you were a Jackie Chan
fan or not, since it's a really good movie and it has some of the
best action sequences I've seen in any Hong Kong movie.

Rating : B-B-Q Jackie Chan (9/10)

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: Fhrx
Date: 07/03/2000
Summary: The best Jackie Chan movie so far...

Drunken Master 2 is based around the turn of the century and stars Jackie Chan once again as Chinese folk hero Wong Fei Hong (looking only slightly older than his character of 17 years ago).

Drunken Master 2 starts with Wong, his father and friends transporting some goods into China on a train. While wandering through the train out of sheer boredom, Wong discovers an old Manchu soldier (director Lau Kar Leung) stealing from his family's luggage. The old man escapes off the train and Wong follows to retrieve his goods.

The first great fight of the movie ensures underneath the train as Wong must fend off the old man's vicious spear attacks. They soon end up moving under the platform then out into a surrounding field. Throughout the fight both participants demonstrate their enormous ability and skill.

After unwillingly settling on a draw, the old man stays behind as Wong recovers his goods and gets back to the train. Unfortunately Wong's goods have gotten mixed up with the old man's goods which consist of ancient Chinese treasures.

The main plot to Drunken Master 2 sees Wong getting mixed up in artifact smuggling ring with villains Andy Lau and Ken Lo Houi-Kang (Jackie's real life bodyguard). Anita Mui (The Heroic Trio, My Father is a Hero, Rumble in the Bronx) plays Wong's stepmother while martial arts veteran Ti Lung (A Better Tomorrow 1 & 2) plays Wong's father. Wong once again meets up with the Manchu soldier again and discovers more about the artifact smuggling ring. The remainder of the movie has Wong trying to recover a Chinese fan that connects the bad guys to the smuggling operation.

The one thing Drunken Master 2 is famous for is its incredible fight scenes. The movie contains many fights with quite a few really memorable ones. Chan runs through his drunken boxing style Kung-fu techniques with expert precision and doesn’t look his 40 years old at all.

One of the fights has Wong's mother throwing wine bottles to him as he fights five henchmen at the same time. As Wong battles the villains, he juggles the successive decanters of wine while doing flips, kicks, and strange, unbalanced taunts.

Another memorable fight sees Chan and his Manchu soldier friend going to a tea shop to meet up with the smugglers where they are both forced to battle a ton of angered henchmen. There are several standout sequences in this fight, not the least of which is when the Manchu soldier kicks a rickety wooden staircase out from underneath 15 odd henchmen. Chan’s pole work is very impressive as well.

By far one of the most impressive fights ever seen is the last battle. Wong has to fight a heap of bad guys and then main bad guy Ken Lo Houi-Kang in a working iron mill. If you've never seen Ken Lo Houi-Kang fight before then you're in for a nice surprise. Mark my words, he is one of the best kickers in Hong Kong today! The guy could kick the top of his own head while balancing on his other leg if he wanted to!

Jackie does the usual bunch of breathtaking stunts, badly burning himself in one of them too. There is no end to his talent in this movie. Drunken Master 2 is one of the finest martial arts movies to be made in Hong Kong. It is the quintessential period piece film with terrific fight choreography and a very capable cast. If you want to get any of your friends hooked on Jackie Chan films, you could do them no bigger favor than to show this film.

Overall I give Drunken Master 2 a 10/10

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: Ash
Date: 02/18/2000
Summary: Jackie's Best!

Drunken Master II is Jackie Chan's best action movie ever. All the numerous fights scenes are instant classics!! It is a MUST SEE!! 10/10

Alexandre Bender

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: hktopten
Date: 12/21/1999

Presented by the Hong Kong Stuntman Association


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

A great film, which many consider Jackie's best... this is the follow up to Drunken Master, Jackie Chan's first great movie. Amazing fight scenes and stunts but the best thing about the whole movie was the outtakes at the end.

(8/10)

[Reviewed by Andrej Blazeka]


Reviewed by: hokazak
Date: 12/09/1999

Jacky Chan as a goofy Wong Fey Hung who fights best when drunk. Amazing fight scenes.


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

The Director was Lau Kar Leung (who played the Manchu soldier Jackie fights under the train). (At least he directed until he got fired, and went off in a huff to direct Drunken Master III with Andy Lau.) Seems he and Jackie disagreed too much--I heard it was about the amount of wire work he wanted to put in. Anyway, to add to the cast list: Lo Wei Kong (one of Jackie's long-time stunt guys and bodyguards) as the kick-boxing terror of a bad guy.

[Reviewed by Anonymous]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

This is what Jackie Chan should do with his movies! Jackie is stellar in this film, mixing "real" fu with some wire work very well. Of course, Jackie is funny as ever, yet in a way that makes you respect his acting, instead of just thinking that the man is a screwball (as in "Fearless Hyena"). Rent this, and "Rumble in the Bronx" looks pretty bad in comparison.

(9.25/10)



[Reviewed by Dale Whitehouse]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Jackie Chan at his best. Some mugging but not too much. Superior to both RUMBLE IN THE BRONX and THUNDERBOLT. Has to be seen, even if you haven't seen the first one!

[Reviewed by Martin Sauvageau]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

At the turn of the century, sinister profiteer Andy Lau is illegally exporting Chinese treasures overseas, and it's up to Jackie Chan (playing ubiquitous folk-hero Wong Fei-Hong) to put a stop to it. Fight scenes in a marketplace and tea shop were impressive, but it's only a warm-up to the punishment Chan endures in the climactic set-piece at a foundry; at one point he drags himself through real burning coals. Impressive production values.

(3/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 7