黃飛鴻之鬼腳七 (1993)
Kickboxer


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 08/10/2003
Summary: Pretty good

The problem with my copy of this movie (which is difficult to obtain by the way) is that the subtitles kept disappearing under the tv so i missed some plotline i believe

i felt this was just your formula martial arts movie. The plot twist is predictable but the action is good. It is still of a above average standard.

Yuen biao does his typical work like his older movies. The character he plays is one he is use too. The rest of the cast do there jobs but there is not stand outs.

Standard martial arts movie, worth a viewing

6.75/10


Reviewed by: ButterflyMurders
Date: 06/05/2002
Summary: Well, to give a different opinion...

Firstly, I think it's a bit harsh, and wrong to say that this film wants to be OUATIC. There are certain elements pulled from OUATIC (a few characters, Po Chi Lam) but overall it's an entirely different film.

As most probably know, Yuen Biao wasn't impressed with how much his character had been cut out of OUATIC, so he decided to even the ledger with this.

The most impressive thing about this film were the fights. They were-Wow. Very nice choreography and camera work. Especially the finale battle between Yuen Biao and Yuen Wah, concluding with the pair suspended on chandaliers. The other fights were quite well done as well, with lots of ass being kicked!

Wu Ma's films usually have strong women characters, and this one is no exception. One even gets to kick some ass. I found Yuen Wah's wife quite chilling. For instance during the dinner scene in the beginning after Yuen Wah blasted someone's brains out with a gun, she continued eating nonchalantly as though seeing people shot dead at a dinner table was a daily occurence. Eww.

Overall this film is pretty entertaining, and under-rated. For something on a budget it still looks quite nice. I liked how it didn't take the obvious route of completely focusing on Yuen Biao, but instead focusing on a few different characters. This film deserves being given a chance :) 7.5/10


Reviewed by: ksbutterbox
Date: 05/02/2002
Summary: Like they say below..

Good fight scenes..always fun to watch Yuen Biao & Yuen Wah go at it...turn off the mind and watch the moves.


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 02/05/2002
Summary: Worth looking at if you're in it for the fights

Fairly cheap knock off of ONCE UPON A TIME IN CHINA starring Yuen Biao. I started watching this many months ago, but the Mandarin dub on the DVD and Wu Ma's horrible buck teeth really put me off, and I consigned it to the "rainy afternoon" bin. It wasn't actually raining on Sunday afternoon, but I decided to give it a go anyway. Once you get past a rather weak first 20 minutes or so, the movie pulls itself together a bit - or perhaps I was just better disposed to it this time. The movie soooo wants to be OUATIC it's a little bit embarrassing - the plot itself is quite different, but many scenes feel like they were basically copied from Tsui Hark's genre redefiner. It doesn't come close to the quality of its inspiration, obviously, but it has its virtues. Primarily these are Yuen Biao and Yen Shi Kwan. Biao's acting here isn't too hot, but when the action scenes come along you realise why it's him in the role... limber, athletic and powerful, he puts on a fine display. Yen Shi Kwan is always welcome in a movie, and he puts in a pretty decent performance here. Not as good as he was as Iron Robe Yim in OUATIC, but he still earns his right to wear a false beard.

The movie would probably have been better if it hadn't been trying so hard to be OUATIC, when it clearly didn't have the budget or talent available to match it... but at least it was trying to be something worthwhile It's probably only really worth watching for the fight scenes though.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: hokazak
Date: 12/09/1999

Yuen Biao plays Lau Zhai, a would-be pupil of Wong Fei Hong.


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Another Wong Fei Hong movie, but the master is travelling, so we learn of the exploits of a potential student instead. Pretty standard fare, with the bad guy from Iron Monkey as a good cop that befriends the student in order to try and shut down the local opium smuggling operating. Good fight scenes, but like I said, pretty standard story.

(8/10)



[Reviewed by Dale Whitehouse]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

This Wong Fey-Hong adventure, the master is on a trip, so we don't see him. Impulsive Lau Zhai (Yuen Biao), an initiate into Wong's kung fu school, allies with police chief Panther to topple an opium distribution ring. One or two cuts below the Once Upon A Time in China series.

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6