逃學威龍Ⅲ之龍過雞年 (1993)
Fight Back to School III


Reviewed by: honloo
Date: 12/24/2002
Summary: Kathy Chow Hoi Mei stole the show

Although Kathy Chow only appear for about 3 minutes in the film, she stole the show.

Turning from a charming beautiful woman to a sexy lady killer.


Reviewed by: ksbutterbox
Date: 06/10/2002
Summary: Well..It's Good!

Anita Mui shines......Dance scene with her and Stephen is worth the view alone. Lots of good stuff in this one. Wong Jing did a good job of vacillating between suspense and humour. Nothing to do with the original but alot better than both of the previous FBTS flicks.


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 04/04/2002
Summary: Great

For some reason I'd never felt inclined to pick this up until my last order - I think I remembered people saying it was basically just a retread of the first but not as good. Clearly I was mixing it up with FBTS 2 . For FBTS 3 Wong Jing & Stephen Chiau decide to explore new territory - Stephen's cop & his wife Cheung Man return, but this time there is no school in sight . This time Stephen is sent undercover to take the place of a millionaire who was found dead, whom he happens to resemble exactly, and find out who killed him and why. From the start the prime suspect is his wife Anita Mui, here doing a glorious parody of Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct.

The movie is fairly typical Wong Jing turf - lots of parodying of movies both western and eastern, and lots of pretty base humour. It never really takes itself seriously at any point, but bounces around between comedy set-pieces in a good natured way. Stephen gives a great performance as usual, but is outshone by Anita Mui who runs from deliciously sexy to flat out stupid with ease and style . Anthony Wong gives one of his good performances too, and Leung Kar Yan is excellent as Stephen's superior (sadly dubbed by somebody else though). Kathy Chow has a small role, but looks particularly delicious in it - as does Cheung Man.

There's a couple of dubious moments - notably the obligatory Wong Jing rape joke - but all in all it's a well crafted and entertaining movie. Light years ahead of FBTS2, and a worthy successor to the original despite no actual school appearing in it .

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 01/12/2002
Summary: Not great

Personally, I rather hate it, compared to the first two at least anyway.

Rating: 2/5

(This rating is based on the year & genre, so don't think it's based as a comparison on new releases etc.)


Reviewed by: danton
Date: 01/03/2002

I'm not a big fan of the first 2 instalments, so it was nice to see that number 3 completely abandoned both the school setting and the rather annoying student sidekicks from the first 2 movies. The result: FBTS 3 is the best of the series, IMHO.

It's basically a spoof of Basic Instint, with Anita Mui Yim-Fong playing the Sharon Stone character (incl. the famous interrogation scene). Her husband is murdered, and Stephen Chow impersonates him, feigning amnesia, to find out who the murderer is, whilst Anita tries to seduce both Stephen AND Cheung Man (yes, let's just say the plot has a few implausibilities...). Along the way, he gets to do a hilarious parody of the first God of Gamblers movie (complete with Nat Chan wearing Any Lau's red leather jacket). Highlights include: him setting fire to Anita's office, and a hilarious fight sequence involving a vacuum cleaner. Anita Mui is good as always and Anthony Wong has a pretty funny role as well. Recommended!


Reviewed by: zarrsadus
Date: 10/24/2001

Reading everyone else's reviews makes it rather pointless to summarize the film, but I will say that I recommend this movie to any fans of Stephen Chow. While I haven't seen Basic Instinct, I could still appreciate the many jokes in the film and laughed a lot. My only dissapointment was the fact that this didn't follow the film's name, they would have been better off making this a whole new movie with a parody name of Basic Instinct, but I guess they wanted to capitalize on the success of the other Fight Back To School movies. All in all worth a watch. 7 out of 10.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: spanishninja
Date: 06/11/2001
Summary: "Fight Back to School" in name only...

Despite the title of the movie and the use of some characters from the two previous films, "Fight Back to School III" is quite different from the other two. Most importantly, this isn't even set in a school at all! Also, while I and II at least tried to take itself seriously at some points, the second sequel is completely senseless, and if you expect a decent storyline, then forget it. If you're looking for good zany fun that spoofs a certain U.S. movie, then read on.

This movie begins at an unspecified amount of time after the end of the second FBTS, where Star (Stephen Chow) foiled the plans of a gang of terrorists from blowing up an international school. Now, he is protecting Miss Ho's cousin (played by Natalis Chan), a suspended police officer who constantly being hunted down by his enemies. All of a sudden, he gets a call to a crime scene, where a murder has occurred (in a style exactly like a certain Michael Douglas-Sharon Stone movie of years past). The victim is Million Wong, a businessman who looked just like Star. So naturally, Star was swindled by the police force into posing as a missing Million in order to return to his home and investigate the case further. There, he meets Judy Tong (played by Anita Mui), the wife of Million, who suspected that he wasn't really her husband. What follows is complete and utter zaniness, with numerous ridiculously funny gags. Of course, this being a spoof of that "certain" movie, there are elements of suspense, but nothing that can make this movie deviate from a "Naked Gun"-esque comedy.

All the performances here are pretty good, although Ng Man Tat isn't in this one. I was especially glad that Cheung Man's character was finally given at least a little bit of depth. Natalis Chan's performance was quite effective at picking up the slack for Ng Man Tat's absence, as basically a smarter, more cunning version of Uncle Tat. I also liked the role of Judy Tong, played quite well by Anita Mui, a singer who can act. In short, even though this movie is a complete parody and doesn't really fit with the other FBTS films, the cast and the comedy is able to keep Stephen Chow fans entertained. Rating = 8.75/10

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: xiaoka
Date: 06/02/2001
Summary: Good, almost as good as the first one, MUCH better than the second one


after being really disappointed with the second Fight Back to School installment, I was releaved to find the third one was much much better, almost as good as the first one even. The first FBTS was much more original and much more fresh, whereas this one is similar to some of Stephen Chow's other movies - a parody of one or more popular Western movies - in this case Basic Instinct. Its been a while since I saw Basic Instinct, so it was harder for me to appreciate the parody as much as I could, so maybe rent Basic Instinct before watching this one.

Cheung Man and Anita Mui are both good. There are some really funny scenes and as a whole the movie does not bore.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 02/28/2001
Summary: Good

Not as good as the original but still enough laughs to entertain and watch!!

The comedy version of Basic Instinct, believe it or not........

7/10

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: MadMonkey
Date: 12/09/1999

Let's take a hit U.S. movie and try to mimic it while throwing in just enough parody to avoid violation of international copyright law. Hmm...it's refried Basic Instinct, with Chow playing his old role as Sing Sing the supercop, only this time forced into undercover work as Anita Mui's husband, whom he just happens to resemble almost exactly. Some funny scenes--like a disgusting "destruction of evidence" scene from a bedroom murder location, a parody of Chow's "Saint of Gamblers" character from All for the Winners and GoG II and III, and a final fight with the psychobabe who's been committing icepick murders "just like that hit Hollywood movie"...Anita Mui is capable in her slapstick role as a somewhat besmirched, sorta lesbian socialite. Just OK.

(2/5)


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Stephen Chow is back as police officer Chow Sing Sing, undercoverextraordinaire. This time, he is sent to investigate the murder of millionaire Million Wong, to whom Chow has an uncanny resemblance, by posing as Wong himself. Police contact Mrs. Wong to tell her they have located her alive but amnesic husband. Through meeting Wong's strange friends and family, and through many misunderstandings and mistakes, Chow thinks he has the answer -- only to find that his girlfriend, Min, is dating the murder suspect. A brilliant, zany spoof on the movie Basic Instinct.

[Reviewed by Rim Films Catalog]