]b (1991)
The Banquet


Reviewed by: adamas85
Date: 12/29/2006
Summary: a nice movie, some funny moments and enough celeb's to keep everyone happy!!

With enough stars to think you've been hit by a mallet. The Banquet was made in benefit of the flood victims in China in '91. The movie has the most surprisingly largest amount of cameo/guest appearances we'll probably ever see in a movie. Now the list I mention bellow is all of the actors I KNOW, there's is probably 20-30 actors/actresses I've missed out on or didn't recognize, so sorry if I missed out your fav.

Guest Appearances, well we have Tony Leung Chiu-Wai as Eric Tsang's personal assistant. In reflection of Tony Leung we have producer John Shum as Sammo Hung's personal assistant.

Appearances as Father Tsang's expert's include; Liu Chia-Liang and Kara Hui as Chinese Sword experts. Eric Kot and Jan Lam teach Father Tsang English. Karl Maka makes an appearance as a make up expert for Father Tsang. Simon Yam makes an appearance as some sort of body language expert.

Another celebrity filled moment is where Tsang Siu-Chi has a day dream about the people attending his banquet at first we get some dazzling actresses such as Anita Mui, Sally Yeh and Sylvia Chiang. As the list continues we see Anthony Chan, Michael Hui, Stephen Chow, Gong Li and we even get Alan Tam make an appearance as the prince Allabraba. Heck Tsang even imaging himself as Leslie Cheung!

Other general appearances include Ng Man-Tat, Aaron Kwok, Leon Lai, Maggie Cheung, Andy Lau Tak-Wah, Joey Wong, Teresa Mo, Phillip Chan, Kenneth Tsang, Bill Tung, Lydia Shum, Carina Lau, James Wong Jim, Turtle Wong, Waise Lee, Chin Kar-Lok, Ti Lung, Sandra Ng, May Lo, Lau Siu-Ming, Nat Chan, Wu Fong, Tommy Wong, David Chiang, Leung Ka-Yan, Billy Lau, Teddy Robin, Lowell Lo.

Now after mentioning all that I'm exhausted!

Final Thoughts, a nice movie, some funny moments and enough celeb's to keep everyone happy. Enjoy!

(Source: HKCuk.co.uk)

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 07/09/2002
Summary: Pretty good

Though not exactly a real serious film, this was in aid of raising money for victims of the Chinese floods around the same time, and it was a chance for a good number of HK stars to come out in force altogether for one of the biggest comedy shows ever seen on screen. In fact, there are very little stars missing from the film, and most notibly was the surprise that neither of the biggest stars at the time (Chow Yun Fat & Jackie Chan) were in the film.

All the best comedians from past and present (at the time anyway!) are brought together for the first time like this, with Sammo Hung, Eric Tsang, Dodo Cheng, George Lam, Richard Ng, Tony Leung, Michael Hui, Stephen Chow...the list goes one!

Still, like the others have said, it's more of a chance to see how many people you can spot! It's a really fun film, but unless one of these new DVD companies re-release the film, it's becoming more and more difficult to find now.

4 directors were involved in this too, including Alfred Cheung who is missing off this cast list (which I will request to be added), and although they were not all needed, you still have 4 of the top directors at the time (Tsui Hark, Alfred Cheung, Clifton Ko and Joe Cheung).

Well worth seeing if you get the chance though.

[3.5/5]

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Souxie
Date: 06/22/2002
Summary: it's full of stars!!

Wow, fantastic display of stars out to cobble a quick movie together to make money for charity. And didn't they do well!! Jacky Cheung and Eric Tsang are the chief instigators, although you get 10 points for spotting everyone in the background. Lovely turn by Tony Leung Chiu-Wai, and Jacky's pointed remark that he can't sing like a heavenly king... speaking of which, I'm sure all 4 are in here as I think I spotted Leon Lai Ming cooking with the wok? Anyway, see who you can spot. It's just plain fun, ignore the fact that most lines are in the script to give someone a 5 second cameo - this is great fun to watch! (Kwok Fu-Sing has two lines and about 5 seconds screen time, in case you were wondering!)

Funny and delightful to watch, 7/10

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 10/21/2001
Summary: Disjointed, but fun

THE BANQUET: Another Tsui Hark comedy about food, although not really a lot of food in this one. Jackie Cheung is a freelance entrepreneur who tries to play Eric Tsang and Sammo Hung off each other in a plot to win a billion dollar contract to rebuild Kuwait from a Kuwaiti prince. In order to convince the prince he's the man, Eric Tsang has to pretend to be a doting son... despite the fact he hasn't visited his father (Richard Ng) in 10 years. The film was made as a charity piece to raise money for the Chinese flood disaster fund, and according to Andy Lau's intro speech it set new standards for rush film-making. By HK standards that probably means it was made in about 3 days :-) The overall effect is a bit disjointed as every HK star ever makes a cameo appearance somewhere or other, but the main story line actually hangs together fine through this - it's so simple it would have to! It's quite a nice story and there's some good comedy moments. Not a grand production, but recommended for star-spotting if nothing else.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: nomoretitanic
Date: 05/18/2001
Summary: No Plot

No plot, little character development, little script, little direction. Does it suck? No. I'm not being sarcastic. It's really fun to watch, even though it's not a real movie. This is in the same ballpark as, let's say, watching the Golden Horse awards (you even get to watch them eat, just like The Golden Globe). You see all of your favorite movie stars, from Way Back Then to now, just walking in and out of the sets, being basically themselves, without the speech or the music or the tabloid camera flashes. It's fun to watch, it is.


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

Class differences amidst money-hungry investors is the theme forthis amusing satire centered around a Chinese banquet.

[Reviewed by Tai Seng Catalog]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Film with a weak plot about an businessman trying to clinch a deal for the reconstruction of Kuwait after the Gulf War from a Kuwaiti prince. The climax of the movie is a banquet/dinner at the end featuring cameos by several Hong Kong movie celebrities.

[Reviewed by Anonymous]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

A wild movie that was actually put together in record time to help aid flood victims in China with the proceeds. Actually a loosely based remake of an old black and white film. Features an astronomical number of walk-ons by Hong Kong actors and directors. Most memorable scene is a brief meeting between past and present comic masters Michael Hui and Stephen Chow!

[Reviewed by Brian Lam]