Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying Big5
女機械人 (1991)
Robotrix


Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 07/04/2007
Summary: robot tricks......

June 2007 - Director Jamie Luk Kim-Ming's 1991 masterpiece, in my opinion, is the guiltiest of all guilty pleasures, although he did go on to direct Bomb Disposal Officer Baby Bomb [1994] and Troublesome Night 15 [2002]. Craziness abounds. Cheesiness (is that a real word?) abounds. Amy Yip Ji-Mei abounds. This is one of those movies that, as it unfolds before your eyes, you can't help but like until it's over and then you hate it for making you feel sleazy. You feel sleazy, but in a good way. It is a work of sci-fi fiction, so anything goes, right? It is a movie about robot tricks.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: STSH
Date: 01/28/2007
Summary: Dull, despite .....

Given the story, sets, actors and the idea, this should (and could) have been a wild and wacky soft-porn sci-fi send-up. Well, there are occasional (and short) wild scenes, and infrequent outbreaks of wackiness, but the pace is mostly leaden and slow.

Think of it this way : A sci-fi comic, beautifully drawn, is used as the plan for a movie. The director pastes the best images straight onto the screen, but then forgets to animate the actors in between the comic images. That's the impression I got, again and again, watching this movie. having said that, I definitely recommend any hard-core HK film fan see it ..... just don't be in too much of a rush, and set your expectations pretty low.

Reviewer Score: 3

Reviewed by: dandan
Date: 08/02/2006
Summary: a guilty pleasure indeed...

MrBooth says it all really; it's sleazy, badly acted nonsense, that somehow manages to be watchable in the worst way.


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 08/02/2006
Summary: 7/10 - total trash, but fun

The 1980's were a pretty seminal decade for science fiction, producing (amongst many others) the classics ROBOCOP and TERMINATOR. ROBOTRIX is Hong Kong's answer to both of those films, but with the smart, stylish vision of the future replaced by... breasts, mostly.

Female cop Selina (Aoyama Chikako) is shot by a formidable kidnapper whilst trying to protect a wealthy Sheik's son. Of course the kidnapper turns out to be a mad scientist who has transfered his consciousness into a robot, and the only way to rescue the son and stop the bad guy is to transfer Selina's mind into one of the good guy's robots. And Amy Yip has large breasts (really, that's a plot point).

Robotrix is a great example of the "guilty pleasure"... something that you know is bad, and probably immoral, but you can't help liking. The script makes little no sense, but honestly doesn't seem to be trying very hard to do so. The acting is uniformly dreadful... how David Wu kept getting work I will never understand, though I assume a contract with the devil was involved. I can understand how Amy Yip kept getting work much easier - with breasts that large you don't really need to be able to act. It's clear that she knew this too. Aoyama Chikako is only marginally less well endowed than Ms Yip... and I'm not talking about her acting (which is about equally bad), but unlike Amy she does allow her assets to be fully uncovered in this film. Billy Chow isn't exactly "Mr Emotive" either, though since he's playing a psycho robot killer that hardly matters - as Arnold Schwarzenegger can testify.

So why do I like this film again? It certainly isn't the scipt, and it can't just be the lurid sex and violence... perhaps just because it's so shamelessly trashy and daft. ROBOTRIX was actually one of the very first Hong Kong films I saw, and many years later I still remembered it well, which is more than can be said for a lot of films (including ones I watched last week). Sometimes being really bad can be a virtue in itself. OK, maybe the sex and violence have something to do with it too :p

Anyway, despite the odds stacked against it, ROBOTRIX manages to be something of a classic Hong Kong film... in its own special way :-)

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Wu'xiaBadger
Date: 01/27/2003
Summary: So bad I thought it was a US flick

Its been a few years since I sat through this, but I felt a sharp jab of pain at the memory upon seeing it listed, so I'll throw out my opinion. I remeber it being stupid, but other than that, things are kind of hazy. Nasty rape sequences, cheesy FX, lousy action sequences, a recycled(IE, stolen) sci-fi plot, and generic cinemtography sink this bastard like a boulder. But all things considered, I'd sooner sit through this again than Black Mask 2. So 3/10

Reviewer Score: 3

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 05/22/2002
Summary: Garbage

One of the biggest mistakes made in HK! This film is complete garbage, I never actually sat through the last half it was so bad.

Rating [1/5]


Reviewed by: RLM
Date: 05/22/2002
Summary: One of the worst I've seen in awhile

Sex and violence with no rhyme or reason. Tries hard to be a sci-fi/martial arts flick but never pulls it off. No one in our group lasted the entire film. Oh by the way, its about a crazy scientist who dies and transfers himself into a robot. The next hour is his rape rampage. Some chick cop dies and gets transfered into a robot; we think. They fight at the end after another rape and.....who knows which one won.... 0/10
Oh yeah, the location budget must have gotten tight because one fight scene is in a gravel pit for no decernable reason.


Reviewed by: xiaoka
Date: 06/28/2001
Summary: Terminator, category 3 style...


A pretty cheaply made Terminator-esque movie about a killer robot and the good guy robots trying to stop him. Except in this case the killer robot is a serial rapist/murder and the robots trying to stop him all have big breasts.

It has some laughs, the cops working on the case are typical HK film characatures. There's a decent amount of sex, but don't think this is any where near something like Sex and Zen (which was all about the sex).

The sex isn't that sexy, and the fighting isn't so great, and the special effects aren't that great either. But on the plus side it definitely has some great 'camp' appeal, and is a must to complete any decent Amy Yip collection.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: Brad.Daniels
Date: 12/09/1999

Mediocre sci-fi flick with lots of violence and sex, often in the same scenes. Amy is the scientist's head android trying to foil a kidnapping by an evil scientist who has transferred his mind into another android. The film's main attraction is Amy Yip's ample bust, which is shown to rather good effect.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

A Japanese scientist discovers that the mind and personalityof a dying person can be transferred to a robot. He commits suicide to prove it. The robot/scientist exploits his new arrangements by embarking on a program of kidnapping, rape and murder. Then a robotrix, a similarly converted former female police officer, and her team of robotrices, throw some very nasty wrenches in his works.

[Reviewed by Rim Films Catalog]