一本漫畫闖天涯 (1990)
My Hero


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 04/24/2005
Summary: Remarkably random

MY HERO is an early Chiau movie, directed by "Beardy" Leung Kar Yan, who also has a small beardless part in the movie. Chiau plays a young kid who idolises the gangsters from his comic books, and ends up getting involved in real life gangster affairs, where his intelligence eventually overcomes his cowardice and helps him rise through the ranks. MY HERO is one of those movies where it's almost impossible to predict what's going to happen in the next scene... unfortunately not because it plays clever tricks with your expectations of genre conventions, but more because it appears to be completely random. It's quite nice to be surprised, but it's better when it keeps you guessing what might be next rather than simply giving up on it as a futile task. Kind of enjoyable, but probably only for Chiau fans (but then who isn't one?).


Reviewed by: xiaoka
Date: 03/30/2003
Summary: yeah, not very good


after the first 20 minutes my attention span gave out and i started talking to a friend as the movie went... this made it more enjoyable actually, because you could just stop and mildly laugh at the few funny scenes and ignore the generic gangster stuff... the billards shot is impressive, must be a trick of some sort. I'd avoid this one unless you're trying to watch every Stephen Chow movie or something.

Reviewer Score: 3

Reviewed by: MilesC
Date: 02/17/2003
Summary: Chow's worst movie?

This might just be the worst of Stephen Chow's movies after making leading-man status. Is it an extremely mediocre gangster movie marred by sporadic lame comedy, or is it a completely unfunny comedy full of out-of-place violence? I don't know. I do know that this movie doesn't deserve the "maybe I just can't understand the jokes" benefit of the doubt, because I can understand a lot of the language gags now, and they're still not funny at all, at least to me. The best part of the movie, in all seriousness, is the part where Chow appears to make, in one take and with no apparent cheating, the best pool shot I've ever seen. Seriously, that's the best thing in the movie. The plot sucks, the pacing is slow as molasses, with whole scenes existing for one lame gag and some scenes going on forever. The romantic angle is some of the worst filler I've ever seen. Chow barely gets any chances to cut loose. This movie absolutely sucks in every way. I've seen almost all of Stephen Chow's films in which he plays the lead now, and I love about six of them, like a lot of them to varying degrees, and think he has a handful that are just irredeemable crap. This is the bottom of the heap.


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 03/19/2002
Summary: Ummm........

Nothing special here.

A triad movie with little comedy. Chow Sing Chi tries to be funny but because of this, it sort of wrecks the movie. It should of just been a triad movie, or a comedy, because the blend of both doesn't work.

Leung Kar Yan is wasted here but it's good to see Ann Waterbridge get a bigger role.

The ending, some people will feel unsatisfied with.

It's abit better than average because of Chow Sing Chi.

6.25/10


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 02/07/2002
Summary: What the hell is this?!

My Hero is supposed to be a triad comedy in a way, which is a bad idea straight away. It’s very hard to make a comedy and at the same time dealing with violent triads. The story and plot are all over the place, as most of the time it is serious and a lot of brutal scenes, then minutes later Stephen Chow is on the screen making jokes. In fact parts of it are set so slow, a good 20 minutes could have been left out. Wilson Lam is the only person to save this film in any sort of way, as the rest of it is pretty unbearable, even with Anne Bridgewater. Shing Fui On was given a much bigger role than usual, and was very good.

I won’t add anything else to the story as the other reviews sort of sum up what story there might be. It’s certainly “Mo Lai Tau”.

Leung Kar Yan really messed up on this film. He couldn’t make up his mind if he wanted to do a comedy or serious film. In my opinion, if Stephen Chow had been left out, it would have been a lot more enjoyable, as you can’t take anything seriously when he is joking around (incidentally, his jokes are not funny in this). Probably the best parts of the movie is in the middle as they travel to Thailand (I think that is where it was). Watch out for the end though, it gets very over-dramatic.

Rating: 2/5


Reviewed by: Moro Turkey
Date: 11/09/2000

I hate to say this, but this movie really sucks. I WOULD be extremely depressed to report that the wonderful, sexy Stephen Chow had made a worse movie than Lawyer Lawyer, but this is one of his early ones. So, really, he's made a lot of progress. ^^ Okay, why does it suck? For one thing, the changes in tone are pretty unbearable. Unlike many of Chow's later movies, which oscillate effortlessly from lighthearted comedy to intense gore, this one is basically just a dull gangster drama with simpleminded gags thrown in at random. To remind you that it's a comedy, there is this god-awful 'music.' No one is characterized and the ending is anti-climactic in the extreme. See God of Cookery instead.


Reviewed by: jfierro
Date: 12/21/1999

Boy, isn't it fun to watch Stephen Chow rise up through through the underworld using his fast talking skills while his two best buddies do plenty of brutal and heartless killings. Well, I didn't think so at all. A very inappropriate mixing of goofball humor and triad violence.


Reviewed by: hktopten
Date: 12/21/1999

Another triad recruitment film. A tale of a comic book readingwaiter (Stephen Chow), after saving a mob boss, stumbles his way to become a gangster, with the help of his friend Chun (Lam Chun Yin), who he idolizes like a comic book character. The jury is still out on this one. I would recommend it for Stephen Chow's performance, but the story is FAIRLY unbearable.