陸阿采與黃飛鴻 (1976)
Challenge of the Masters


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 11/14/2004
Summary: Boring

Seen it all before, nothing much here though there is a moral to this story which is the only thing i can recommend about this film. The fights are nothing special and neither is the fighting sequences!!

4/10


Reviewed by: PAUL MARTINEZ
Date: 10/15/2004
Summary: Was Expecting More

I was slightly disappointed with this effort from Liu Chia Liang. I usually love his films but this one left me a little unfullfilled. It had it's moments just not enough of them.

The story is of a young Wong Fei Hung and his initial learning of the Martial Arts philosophy. A sound plot line but which wasn't carried out well. There was too much time spent on "I wish I knew Kung Fu", "Will someone teach me Kung Fu", and then his being trained finally. I liked the training sequences but by the the time we got to it I was already bored. A nice message of how the true Martial Arts lies in compassion for your enemy.

The great cast helped a little. Gordon Liu, before he became the "Kung Fu Monk", was very good as Wong Fei Hung. Chen Kuan Tai did a very good job as Master Lu as well. Lilly Li was wasted here however. I think she coulde have had an expanded role in the plotline.

While only 2 fights in the movie, they were very entertaining. Both involving Liu Chia Liang and his famous spear technique.

Overall it was OK. But really needed to have the pace sped up. Which is strange for me to say considering the Director and cast involved.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: weirdcat
Date: 09/14/2004
Summary: Another Classic MA movie from "The Pops"

This is another excellent film from Master Lau Kar Leung. Lau Kar Fai plays a young Wong Fei Hung before and after he learnt Hung Gar Kuen. The storyline is fresh (for it's time)and the acting is excellent. What sets it apart from other movies is the philosophy behind the martial arts taught to Lau Kar Fai by his master played by Chen kuan Tai.
Thhis is complemented by the astounding action choreography (don't forget this was 1976). Stand out bouts between Lau kar Leung and his bruv Lau Kar Wing (Spear and Sword)and lau Kar Leung and Lau Kai Fai (spear and Pole) towards the end. The way the movie finishes with both enemy camps coming to an understanding that fighting is wrong and finishing the movie with mutual respect for one another. Kung Fu is not just for fighting. It is for living peacefully as well.
Top stuff.

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 08/23/2004
Summary: 4/5

****1/2 CHALLENGE OF THE MASTERS: I think this was the first film to portray a young Wong Fei Hung? As such, a big influence on Drunken Master and Once Upon A Time In China, and through them... everything :p Great film, though Chen Kuan Tai's wig was terribly fit and for some reason I had to watch it in 4 sittings because I kept falling asleep :p

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: Wu'xiaBadger
Date: 02/03/2003
Summary: Wrong Fei-Hung

This film would get a better review if I hadn't held such high expectations for it. The other of the Liu's films I've seen I liked a lot better. This definitly has its moments, but it also has its share of flaws.
The high points of the film are the training sequences. One serious problem is its inaccurate portrayel of Wong Fei-Hung. Granted, any Kung-fu flick based on his life will change the facts, but I thought even Jackie did a better job. Not that it's Gordon's fault, he is in topform; rather the problem lies in the script.
I would recommend this mostly for Liu fans, as there are only a couple of really good fights, and no distinctive plot or cinematography to assist it. A lot of neat ideas were only partially used to the extent of their potential, such as the fireworks competiton. Still, worth a look for those interested in the roots of modern HK cinema, and its now classic soundtrack. 5/10 (I could only find the dubbed version or else it might've been higher)

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: battlemonkey
Date: 12/21/1999

The Wong (as in Fei-hong) family kung fu school is abused bya rival school so Wong Fei-hong goes to learn kung fu from his father's master. After the rival school's main villain kills some people, Fei-hong trains even harder, and then returns for revenge. It's great. Wong Fei-hong is young and brash, not the cultured and reserved man most people think he is based on Jet Li's portrayals of him recently. I mean, you put the three big Liu's in a film, and how can you go wrong?


Reviewed by: Darryl
Date: 12/21/1999

great Lau Kar Leung gem has young Wong taken in by an older master. Wonderful, restrained cinematography, great battles (LKL and his favorite - a nice spear fihgt), Gordon Lau Kar Fei at the top of his form, a dragon dance motif Tsui Hark borrowed for ONCE UPON A TIME IN CHINA, some decent melodrama and in a supporting role Ricky Hui Koon Ying.

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Its dull. Only two good fights in the film. Those were fights were when the guy got kicked to death by the bad guy and when Liu fights the bad guy to avenge the death. The other guys were mediocre fighters. The plot goes no where as the kung fu schools fight on for what seems like forever (and these fights aren't good) and eventually make up when Liu sets an example. Ugh, I can only give this film a 5.

[Reviewed by Anonymous]