­¸ÆN (2004)
Silver Hawk


Reviewed by: Hyomil
Date: 04/07/2011


Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 02/02/2006
Summary: Big, glossy production!

Big, glossy production stars Michelle Yeoh as a futuristic crime-fighting heroine in a neat action comedy. Director/Cinematographer Jingle Ma serves up a visual feast for the eyes in this upbeat, lighthearted 2004 Lunar Holiday film.

Film features classic movie martial arts filmed at low and wide angles. A couple of action set pieces are unique and play well in this film of comic book heroics. Richie Ren does a nice job as the police detective investigating the mysterious lady crimefighter.

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 09/26/2005
Summary: A lot better than THE TOUCH

After THE TOUCH i had very low expectations of this movie. I was pleasantly suprised that this quirkly action movie was quite watchable.

For myself, Richie Ren steals the show along with the different and inventive fight scenes,which makes this movie above average.

The main issue i had with this movie the ending, which was generic and leading up to the ending, i felt things flowed quickly, just so the end fight scene was showed!! Another 10 minutes would of helped as i felt finding the enemies lair was a bit too easy!!

Enjoyable, worth a viewing!!

6.75/10


Reviewed by: ewaffle
Date: 07/19/2005
Summary: Michelle saves the day--and this movie

There is a lot to like about “Silver Hawk”—Michelle Yeoh kicking the hell out of the bad guys and occasionally flashing that million dollar smile while doing so; Michelle (or her stunt double) on a motorcycle chasing down smugglers; Michelle beating opponents who should have a significant advantage over her because they cheat; Michelle effortless flying through the air to land the perfect punch. However, we have seen her do every bit of it many times before. This is no way to revive an all but moribund film industry.

Michelle looks great-—she is toned, fit, athletic and beautiful as ever. That she is parsimonious with her killer smile makes it even more effective when it does light up her face. Her costume is ridiculous—long silver duster over silver hot pants, high-heeled boots and a mask that might fool a blind man but no one else. The only mystery concerning her secret identity is that it took so long for both the newly appointed and very annoying Police Superintendent Rich Man (Richie Ren Xian Qi) and irredeemable bad guy Alexander Wolfe (Luke Goss) to figure it out.

Excellent supporting cast includes Michael Jai White as Morris, a martial arts thug with a fearsome armored hand and a soft spot in his heart for his lethal girlfriend Jane, played in shorts and torn fishnets by the attractive Lee Bing Bing. Model (apparently) turned actress Lisa Selesner adds a very attractive presence.

The narrative is simple and uncluttered, once the superhero trappings are stripped away. Wolfe wants to brainwash the world using Professor Ho Chung’s breakthrough in artificial intelligence. It is up to Rich Man, Silver Hawk and Chung’s assistant, loveable but annoying computer nerd Kit, played by Brandon Chang to thwart the evil plan.

In order to have plenty of fight scenes there is the usual silliness—once Wolfe lures Silver Hawk to his high tech center of operations, he does not simply shoot her. The first time she is trapped there martial artists suspended from dual bungee cords attack her. The second time, when the entire crew shows up, a roller hockey team goes after them. There is a lot of constructive editing in both of them, some almost embarrassingly obvious. Neither scene is very effective—the one on one or two on one fights are well-staged and fun to watch but the two big production numbers get old very quickly. Miniaturized high tech gadgets that allow everyone to spy on everyone else show up often.

“Silver Hawk” is largely for Michelle Yeoh fans—of which I am an extremely ardent one.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 03/21/2005

What surprised me was the lighthearted tone of Silver Hawk. I didn't know anything about it and did not expect a comedy, and it sorted of turned out as such. I am surprised I enjoyed the movie quite a bit, since it is generally lame and formulaic. Nevertheless Michelle Yeoh looks wonderful as superhero /slash/ pretty model, and the action--while heavily editted-is pretty good.

[6/10]


Reviewed by: PAUL MARTINEZ
Date: 07/13/2004

Well I gonna have to slightly disagree with the earlier reviews. With Hollywood churning superhero films by the bunch it was only a matter of time HK would soon follow. Although it could have been done better, I really enjoyed it. By no means is this an award winning masterpiece but for what it was I found it very watchable. Which is saying a lot considering some of the other films I've seen lately. The bungee cord fight seen was something new & appreciated. My one problem was if your going to make these futuristic superhero films then you need to spend some money on S/E. Just plain old wire work is not going to cut it for these type of films.

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 06/18/2004

Based on the dismal local box-office returns and general bad buzz, I didn't have high hopes for Silver Hawk, especially after The Touch, which was disappointing to say the least. Thankfully, even though Silver Hawk isn't anything great, it is a fairly nice way to kill off ninety minutes. The trouble is that I (and many other Michelle Yeoh fans) expect more from her than a dopey superhero action flick.

Silver Hawk takes place in the futuristic Polaris City. Michelle plays an heiress named Lulu Wong who spends her spare time catching crooks as her alter-ego Silver Hawk. The cops are sick of being made fools of, so they enlist a tough new superintendent (Richie Ren) to catch the Hawk. While the cat-and-mouse game is going on, an evil scientist (Luke Goss) is trying to take over Polaris City by using a mind-control chip implanted in cell phones, so of course Michelle and Richie end up joining forces to stop him.

This film's main problem is that it never seems to find its' own identity. Almost every idea in the movie seems to have been taken from a previous entry, from Silver Hawk's use of a motorcycle (Supercop) to a big black henchman with metallic arms (Mortal Kombat). There are some fairly original bits, like a fight conducted on bungee cords, but overall, the film-makers really don't do anything fresh with the material.

Despite my better judgement, and general adversion to Jingle Ma's work, I did have a pretty good time with Silver Hawk. There's a nice amount of action and Michelle looks great as always. But it did leave a bit of a bad taste in my mouth. With all the time and money Michelle Yeoh (who produced this film) had at her disposal, one would think the results should have been better than this. If Hong Kong movies want to start competing with Hollywood films, they had better emulate the pictures of the past, instead of trying to parrot Hollywood's flavor of the week.

[review from www.hkfilm.net]


Reviewed by: magic-8
Date: 05/17/2004
Summary: It's A Bird! It's A Plane! It's A Dud!

It's a bird. It's a plane. It's Silver Hawk? Michelle Yeoh steps into costume and becomes "Silver Hawk," a movie from director Jingle Ma, about the titular superhero of the near future, in a place called Polaris City. Yeoh's Silver Hawk seemingly has nothing better to do than fight injustice and crime. When she isn't in uniform, she's Lulu Wong, a wealthy, playgirl billionaire.

The writers, Susan Chan ("Tokyo Raiders" and the upcoming "Koma") and Jingle Ma, attempt to recreate a comic book hero in the vein of Batman, as in the campy television series with Adam West. The thing that they forgot to include is a compelling origin. Instead, the childhood relationship between Yeoh and Richie Ren is told. Without a "raison d' etre," the superhero worship stuff just doesn't click. The childhood memories are fine, but without any other background material, we are left with spotty dialogue and silly costumed villians.

Jingle Ma does a good job in scouting locations and that's about it. Otherwise his direction is very limited because there really isn't much of a plot other than Silver Hawk fights the bad guys. The tone throughout the movie is light and much too cute. There are no moments of danger or menace. For a moment I had forgotten that this was a Jingle Ma and not a Joe Ma movie. Without an engaging story, the filmmakers throw in comedy to offset the shortcomings. Richie Ren and his "crackle-crackle" kung fu is amazingly lame. Jingle must have thought that he was making a movie for grade schoolers instead of adults, or that adults would find this puerile humor funny.

"Silver Hawk" suffers from the same malaise that affects big budgeted Hollywood productions, too much money to burn and no script to film. The choreography by Ailen Sit is passable, but again, is adversely affected by the tired and unoriginal script, which introduces roller bladers brandishing hockey sticks, an idea from a bag of retread themes used in a dozen other superhero movies. The bungee-corded bad guys could have worked if Cirque du Soleil didn't already corner the market.

What remains is the star, Michelle Yeoh, whose screen presence and personality make "Silver Hawk" watchable.