安娜與武林
Anna in Kungfu-land (2003)


Reviewed by: evirei
Date: 09/02/2012


Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: Hyomil
Date: 04/07/2011


Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 12/11/2004
Summary: funny, ha-ha

Funny as hell movie from one of the best directors working in Hong Kong today. With a clever screenplay, the cast is awesome. Lots of kung fu fun and some serious kick-ass from martial arts director Stephen Tung Wai. Highly recommended!

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 09/18/2004
Summary: Pretty bad!!

i don't think i even laughed once, maybe a smirk. The action is nothing and the romantic side of the movie did nothing for me. Don't waste your 1.5 hours watching this, it's not worth it!! The one good thing is the guy who begining stance is the same as the karate kid. The american villian plays his part well!!

2.5/10


Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 06/18/2004

I must preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of Miriam Yeung. I've only seen a few films with her, but personally, I find her annoying, and I'm puzzled as to her current "queen of the HK box office" status. So take the following review with that in mind. Once again, I'm risking my mental well-being and expecting an onslaught of angry fanboy e-mails here, but I really just needed to get that off of my chest. Anyway, on to the review.

Anna in Kungfu-Land stars Ekin Cheng as an ad executive who comes up with an idea to promote a new health drink by holding a martial arts tournament. The usual motley crew (including three child monks and the mandatory evil American) show up. Ekin falls for one of the competitors (Miriam), but he already has a girlfriend (Denise Ho). The "bad boy" Ekin tries juggling both women for a while, but after the secret comes out, Miriam wants to withdraw from the competition.

The plot is your standard throwaway romantic comedy fare, but I didn't find much to laugh at here. Even though I am generally an uncaring man with little tolerance in films for things other than boobs, booze and blood, I actually wanted, for some putrid, far down, "call ex-girlfriends at six in the morning" reason to like Ekin and Miriam. The movie just couldn't deliver on even that most simple of requests.

Anna in Kung-fu Land's main problem (besides having a very stupid title) is that I didn't feel any sympathy for any of the main characters. Ekin just came off as smarmy and Miriam seemed so nutty and high-strung -- one wonders why someone would be so attracted to her in the first place. It doesn't help matters that the jokes used are just plain tired and worn-out. One particular "gem" -- which is dragged out way too long -- has Ekin trying to fool Denise into thinking that his brother (Wong Yau-Nam) is actually the one going out with Miriam. Wah ha ha. That's some hilarity right there, kids.

You might think that the action scenes would save the day, but sadly that isn't the case here. Stephen Tung's talents are totally wasted with "fights" that are way too short and much too heavily dependent on CGI to be exciting. I know Miriam isn't supposed to be Michelle Yeoh or anything, but I had a very hard time taking her or any of the other contestants -- much less the movie as a whole -- seriously. As such, I can only give Anna in Kungfu-Land a very mild recommendation.

[review from www.hkfilm.net]


Reviewed by: magic-8
Date: 04/01/2004
Summary: Silly Fluff

"Anna in Kungfu-land" doesn't aspire to much more than silly fluff entertainment. The movie features a martial arts tournament, a love triangle, exaggerated kung fu choreography and some bland acting. It does succeed as a middling comedy that is better than the romantic elements of the film.

Even though Miriam plays a kung fu master, with some bad red hair coloring, she plays it like another teenaged, mentally defective character. She is not a teen and needs to be more adult (as in "The Sound of Colors"). She also needs to expand her acting range. Ekin Cheng does a Louis Koo number, with a fresh tan and some typical looks askance acting. Wong You Nam's fresh face is pleasing in a rather small part.

Don't expect much and you'll be rewarded with some pleasantly engaging comedy. Just contain yourself when the hackneyed romatic triangle shows itself, because you can't escape it in "Anna in Kungfu-land."


Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: zarrsadus
Date: 03/13/2004

Mildly entertaining but not the makings of an award-worthy movie. Miriam stars as Anna a Japanese/Chinese kung-fu student who comes to Hong Kong to participate in a martial arts championship which "Mighty Force" energy drink is sponsoring. Ekin works for the PR firm organizing the event for "Mighty Force" and ends up getting in a three way relationship with Miriam and Denise (his current girlfriend). Miriam (Anna) is experiencing her first love after being a martial artist her entire life as Ekin is juggling his two girlfriends while hopefully them not noticing even though the two girls are in many scenes together. The movie was funny because of the cheesey wire-fu during the matches but the whole love story just wasn't that great, nor was Ekin's acting ^_^. Fun movie to kill some time and see Miriam and Ekin together, but not worthy of a second viewing. 5 out of 10.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: 2-5-Boy
Date: 01/05/2004
Summary: Lots of silliness and laughs

I saw this on new years eve and it was a great movie to start off the celebrations.

It's basically about Ekin's character starting up a kung-fu tournament as a marketing ploy for his client. He invites Miriam along, who is a shoalin master, by making her fall in love with him ( although he already has a gf).

This is a typical Miriam movie in that she acts really cute and at times it gets very silly. The kung fu bits were ok, but quite short except for the last fight scene. I loved the other kung-fu characters especially the guy that keeps doing the crane move hehe. I think this is Miriam's second best movie behind Dummy Mommy without a baby.